Just Published!
The Walsh Report - The Department of Defense Review of Department Compliance with President's Executive Order on Detainee Conditions of Confinement
An excellent research tool on the Financial Crisis from the Jefferson County Public Library in Lakewood, Colorado
The Legislative Sourcebook of the Law Librarians' Society of Washington, DC (LLSDC) now has a 1.5 MB file, in PDF, of the complete Conference Report, H. Rep. 111-16, to H.R. 1, the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009, which has been taken and combined from five Congressional Record (50 page) files on GPO Access (210 pages all together).
Timeline of the Financial Crisis from the St. Louis Federal Reserve Bank
Historical Publications of the United States Commission on Civil Rights - A partnership of the United States Government Printing Office, the United States Commission on Civil Rights, and the Thurgood Marshall Law Library
Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs, United States Senate 110th Congress, 2d Session lists over 7,000 Federal civil service leadership positions in the executive and legislative branches
NTIS Technical Reports Newsletter - from the National Technical Information Service
Agricultural Data
The latest on the 2009 Congressional and Presidential Transition from the US Government Accountability Office (GAO)
Search the Catalog of US Government Publications for current titles
OMB -- Office of Management and Budget
Access to Government Assistance
Where to Begin
Tutorial on finding Government Information
ARRA 101 - The American Library Association website outlining the American Recovery and Re-Investment Act
Homeland Security Digital Library
GovEngine links to Federal, State and Local government sites.
Highlights like the FY2009 Budget and the GPO 2007 Annual Report
Google US Government Search provides familiar search engine functionality to your search for government documentation and information.
United States Government Manual provides information on the legislative,judicial, and executive branches of the federal government, as well as information on agencies and international organizations in which the government participates and relevant boards, commissions and committees.
Occupational Outlook Handbook -- a referebce about occupations compiled by the US Bureau of Labor Statistics; contains work and training descriptions and other relevant information.
Social Security Handbook -- the basic guide to Social Security programs with option to contact the Social Security Administration with questions or for assistance.
Access to Federal Resources in the USC Libraries
The University of Southern California has been a selective federal depository for government documents since 1932. The federal depository collection is a broad based multidisciplinary set of print and digital resources selected to support the curriculum and research needs of USC faculty, researchers, and students and the information needs of the general public. The collection is especially rich in Congressional materials. Government documents are housed in specialized subject libraries, particularly VKC Library and Edward L. Doheny Jr. Memorial Library. The print and microfiche collection is housed in the Grand Avenue Library and is accessed through HOMER (USC's online catalog), which allows our user community and the general public to request items either online or manually. Walkup access to the collection is provided 10:00am - 2:00pm, Monday-Friday.
Access Policy: The general public is welcome to use materials in the library. Federal depository law guarantees free and unimpeded access to the collection (44 U.S.C. § 1911), however, there is a fee charged for photocopying materials. To access online electronic publications and electronic databases, the Library maintains public terminals meeting the Recommended Specifications for Public Access Workstations in Federal Depository Libraries. The Depository Library Council posts and continually updates information concerning the future of the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) and the federal government electronic information environment. Prominent links to relevant documentation include: Library Council and Conference meeting minutes, Proceedings of past Federal Depository Library conferences, and "Knowledge Will Forever Govern: A Vision Statement for Federal Depository Libraries in the 21st Century" (PDF).
Subject Guide |
Contact Info VKC Library, Room 38A 3518 Trousdale Parkway Los Angeles, CA 90089 (213)740-8810 smosley@usc.edu Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Chat Resource
Government Information Online is a free national online information service that responds to questions about government information.
Ask-A-Librarian
Still haven't found what you need? Ask-A-Librarian for additional assistance
Links to International Documents Guides
European Statistics
A great resource! intute : A site from the United Kingdom that answers the question, Where can I get European statistics and web resources for social sciences education and research?

Loading...
