Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hoose Library of Philosophy: Collections, History, Art & Architecture and Digital Humanities Projects and Resources: DIGITAL HUMANITIES PROJECTS & RESOURCES

A brief guide to the USC James Harmon Hoose Library of Philosophy and its rare book and manuscript special collections, history, and art and architecture. USC Libraries news, events, projects and services.

Digital Humanties Projects & Resources

Bodleian Libraries, University of Oxford and the Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana (Vatican Library) are collaborating on the Polonsky Foundation Digitization Project. The Project Blog provides details about the process including the equipment, infrastructure and people that make digitization possible, as well as their digitization techniques and methods.

image source: http://bav.bodleian.ox.ac.uk 

Related and helpful Research Guides

Inspiration for Digital Humanities Projects!

The William Blake Archive is a digital humanities project first created in 1996. The project is sponsored by the Library of Congress and supported by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Inspired by the Rossetti Archive, the archive provides digital reproductions of the various works of William Blake, a prominent Romantic-period poet, artist, and engraver, alongside annotation, commentary and scholarly materials related to Blake.

Image source: The William Blake Archive website, http://blakearchive.org/

Eaves, Morris (December 1997). "Behind the Scenes at the William Blake Archive: Collaboration Takes More Than E-mail". Journal of Electronic Publishing. 3 (2). doi:10.3998/3336451.0003.202

Digital Humanities Projects & Resources

 

https://paleography.library.utoronto.ca/

"Paleography is the history and study of handwriting. Old scripts can be very beautiful, but sometimes difficult to read. This site presents over 100 carefully selected French manuscripts written between 1300 and 1700, with tools for deciphering them and learning about their social, cultural, and institutional settings."

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

http://www.cendari.eu/

Digital Humanities Projects & Resources

Broken Books project under development at the Center for Digital Humanities at Saint Louis University

Image source: http://brokenbooks.omeka.net/exhibits/show/llangattock/intro

“A presentation concerning the virtual reconstruction of the Llangattock Breviary, or the Breviary of Leonello d'Este, the first test case manuscript of the Broken Books project under development at the Center for Digital Humanities at Saint Louis University. Credits: Debra Taylor Cashion, PhD, MLIS; Bryan Haberberger, Project Developer.”

http://brokenbooks.omeka.net/exhibits/show/llangattock/digital

"This project is developing a web-based application that will allow for the virtual reconstruction of pre-modern manuscript books that at some time in their history were taken apart, "broken" into pieces and dispersed. Using Shared Canvas technology, we are building a digital resource that will allow users to contribute images and information, including cataloging metadata, about undiscovered leaves of the Llangattock Breviary, with the goal of virtually reconstructing the original manuscript."