Research Guides: Asian American Studies *: Historical Newspapers by Region

Large Newspaper Collections

America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1998 This link opens in a new window
Login required
Dates covered: 1690-1998
Over 900 newspaper in all Includes Early American Newspapers Series 1 and 2, 1690-1900; African American Newspapers, 1827-1998; Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980; and selected historical newspapers.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
(Library of Congress) Includes digitized newspapers published all over the country between 1836-1922 and also provides information about American newspapers published between 1690-present

Google News Archive

19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Login required
Includes over 500 newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
Access World News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Login required
Dates covered: Varies by publication, 1980s - present
Provides access to over 6500 newspapers from all over the world, 70% of which are from North America
Over 4,500 news sources are included. Each provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community, as well as a distinctive focus offering a variety of viewpoints on local and world issues. Paid ads are excluded.
Nexis Uni (formerly LEXIS/NEXIS Academic) This link opens in a new window
Login required
Dates covered: 1980s-present
Full text of articles from more than 2,500 newspapers, including top-tier news publications and local, national, and international sources.

Los Angeles & California Newspapers

America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1998 This link opens in a new window
Login required
Includes 59 California newspapers (26 from L.A. area)
Dates available: 1850-2000; dates/issues vary by publication
Titles include:
California Courier (1958-2000), Daily Democratic State Journal (1853-1858), [San Jose] Evening News (1884-1900), Prensa (1917-1937), Heraldo de Mexico (1917-1928)
California Courier Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Dates available: 8/20-1958-12/31/2000
Login required
California Digital Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
Dates available: 1846-1922 (dates vary by title)
Provides access to 32 California newspapers, including:

- Amador Ledger (1852-1911)
- Imperial Valley Press (1901-1911
- Los Angeles Herald (1873-1910)
- Pacific Rural Press (1871-1922)
- Sacramento Daily Union (1851-1899)
- San Francisco Call (1890-1913), and more. This site, from UC-Riverside’s Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research (CBSR), provides access to thousands of digitized pages from 32 California newspapers.

California Newspaper Project
This is a catalog that contains records for over 14,400 U.S. newspaper titles held in California repositories (libraries, museums, historical societies and publishers' offices) and close to 9,000 of these newspapers were or are published in California.
Chronicling America: California Newspapers (1873-1913)
Newspapers include:

- Los Angeles Daily Herald (1873-1876), Daily Los Angeles Herald (1878-1884), Los Angeles Daily Herald (1884-1890), Los Angeles Herald (1890-1893), The Herald (1893-1898), Los Angeles Herald (1905-1910)

- Imperial Press (4/20/1901-10/26/1901), The Imperial Press and Farmer(1901-1903), The Imperial Press (1903-1905), Imperial Valley Press and The Imperial Press (1906-1907), and Imperial Valley Press (1907-1910).

- The Morning Call (1890-1895), The San Francisco Call (1895-1913), The Call-Chronicle-Examiner (4/19/1906),The San Francisco Call and Post (1913)

- Amador Ledger (1900-1910)

- Sacramento Daily Record-Union (1880-1891), The Record-Union (1891-1899)
El Clamor Publico
(USC Digital Library)
Dates available: 1855-1859
The first Spanish-language newspaper in California after the American occupation
more...less...
Founded by the former Spanish editor of the Los Angeles Star, Francisco P. Ramirez, a 19-year old printer. Published weekly.

Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980) This link opens in a new window
Login required
Includes 43 newspapers from California.
Titles include: Chicano (1968-1977), Heraldo de Mexico (1917-1928), Prensa (1917-1937), Hispano America (1918-1931).
Searchable by dates and "eras", article types, languages, place of publication, and newspaper title.

Los Angeles Examiner
(USC Digital Library)
Dates available: Late 1920-1961
more...less...
Donated to USC in 1978 by the Los Angeles Herald Examiner Division of the Hearst Corporation. This collection consists of approximately 1.4 million prints and negatives from the Los Angeles Examiner newspaper, of which over 21,000 have been digitized. Coverage is broad including crime, sports, society, art, and entertainment.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Sentinel This link opens in a new window
Login required
Dates covered: 1934-2005
(from Proquest) The most important African-American newspaper published in Los Angeles.

Los Angeles Star/La Estrella de Los Angeles
Dates available: 1851-1864
more...less...
(USC Digital Library) Established in 1851 as a weekly newspaper, it was printed half in Spanish and half English until 1855. When the Civil War broke out, the outspoken criticism of the federal government by its editor led to the Star being banned from the mails, and the arrest of its editor for treason. It ceased publication in 1864, apparently due to financial problems, but resumed in 1868. In 1870 it became a daily, but ceased publication in 1879 because of lack of funds. No complete file is known to exist. The current collection consists of about 500 issues up through 1864.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
Login required
Dates available:1881-1998 from Proquest
The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Rafu Shimpo (1936-1953)
(available on microfilm)
more...less...
Key California Japanese American newspaper. USC currently has partial coverage of 1936-1953, and is continuing to build its collection for these years.
Southern California Daily Trojan
USC Digital library is working on uploading digitized copies of the Daily Trojan from 1912-present.

The Daily Trojan is also available on microform, 1912-2004 in USC's Archives (DML 209); or online from 11/2000 - 09/30/2009 via the Library's Access World News Database; or 5/2009-present on Daily Trojan Website: http://dailytrojan.com/archives/

Western Newspapers

(Hawaii, Montana, Nevada, Utah, Wyoming)

Utah Digital Newspapers
Dates covered: 1850-1969
Access to over 50 digitized Utah titles. Added to monthly
Wyoming Newspaper Project
Dates covered: 1849-1922
All of the newspapers printed in Wyoming between 1849 and 1922 are available in this this searchable and browsable collection.

Northeastern Newspapers

(Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Vermont)

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Baltimore Sun (1837-1987) This link opens in a new window
Login required
Dates covered: 1837-1986 from Proquest
The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue

Brooklyn Daily Eagle Online
Dates covered: 1841-1902

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Hartford Courant This link opens in a new window
Login required
Dates covered: 1764-1986 from Proquest
The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times This link opens in a new window
Login required
Dates covered: 1851-2008 from Proquest
The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Northern New York Historical Newspapers
Dates covered: 1811-2010
Currently consists of more than 2.2 milion pages from 52 newspapers.

Pennsylvania Gazette This link opens in a new window
Login required
Dates covered: 1728-1800 (from Accessible Archives) This was one of the most prominent and successful newspapers in the American colonies and Early Republic. Published in Philadelphia, the newspaper was purchased by Benjamin Franklin and Hugh Meredith in 1729. Franklin not only printed the paper but also contributed pieces under aliases. This newspaper was the first to print a political cartoon in America, "Join, or Die," authored by Franklin himself. This digital version of The Pennsylvania Gazette provides a first-hand view of colonial America, the American Revolution and the New Republic, and offers important social, political and cultural perspectives of each of these periods. Also included is the full-text of such important writings as the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, Letters from a Farmer, Thomas Payne’s Common Sense, The Federalist Papers and much more.
Published in Philadelphia, the newspaper was purchased by BenjaminFranklin and Hugh Meredith in 1729. Franklin not only printed the paper but also contributed pieces under aliases. This newspaper was the first to print a political cartoon in America, "Join, or Die," authored by Franklin himself. This digital version of The Pennsylvania Gazette provides a first-hand view of colonial America, the American Revolution and the NewRepublic, and offers important social, political and cultural perspectives of each of these periods. Also included is the full-text of such important writings as the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, Letters from a Farmer, Thomas Payne's Common Sense, The Federalist Papers and much more.

Pennsylvania Civil War Newspapers
Dates covered: 2/23/1831 - 2/14/1877
more...less...
Contains all of the words, photographs and advertisements from selected newspapers published in the years before, during and after the U.S. Civil War

Southeastern Newspapers

(Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia, Washington D.C.)

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Atlanta Daily World This link opens in a new window
Login required
Dates covered: 1931-2003 from Proquest
The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue, beginning December 1931.

The Citizen Council Digital Archive
A pro-segregationist/white supremacist newspaper published in Mississippi between October 1955 and September 1961. It was intended to spread a pro-segregationist message throughout the southern states.
Georgia Historic Newspapers
Dates covered: 1750-1925
more...less...
Contains issues of three important historic Georgia newspapers: the Cherokee Phoenix, the Dublin Post, and the Colored Tribune. Currently the only paper being added to this resource is the Cherokee Phoenix.
Historic Kentucky Newspapers
Dates covered: 1860-1922
Digitized content from 49 titles

North Carolina Newspaper Digitization Project This link opens in a new window
Dates covered: 1751-1898 A project of the North Carolina State Archives, this collection contains over 23,000 pages from newspapers. Click on the link "Newspapers Included" to see the current list of titles from 6 towns. The runs are mostly short, sometimes with only 2 or 3 issues from one paper. Advertisements are included, including indexing of the text. In addition to browsing, you can search by keyword, year, or a particular newspaper
Click on the link "Newspapers Included" to see the current list of titles from 6 towns. The runs are mostly short, sometimes with only 2 or 3 issues from one paper. Advertisements are included, including indexing of the text. Navigation is a bit awkward.
In addition to browsing, you can search by keyword, year, or a particular newspaper. Results include a thumbnail of the newspaper as well as its title and the date of the particular result. Clicking on the thumbnail of the page provides a viewer window to show you the whole page, with icons for moving around, zooming, turning the paper, etc.
ProQuest Civil War Era This link opens in a new window
Login required
Dates covered: 1840-1865
Includes the full run of five southern and border state newspapers:
- The Charleston Mercury (SC) (1840-1865)
- The Daily Dispatch (VA) (1852-1865)
- The New Orleans Picayune (LA) (1840-1865)
- The Louisville Daily Journal (KY) (1840-1865)
- Memphis Daily Appeal (TN) (1847-1865)
Materials were specifically selected for regional and diverse perspectives they offer; newspapers include Richmond Dispatch, Charleston Mercury, New Orleans Times Picayune, Boston Herald, New York Herald, Columbus State Journal, The Kentucky Daily Journal, and the Memphis Daily Appeal. Pamphlets come from two important collections: Slavery and Anti-Slavery Pamphlets from the Libraries of Salmon P. Chase & John P. Hale and Civil War Pamphlets 1861-1865.

Virginia Gazette
Dates covered: 1736-1780
more...less...
The Colonial Williamsburg Foundation has made the full-text of this key newspaper available, which covered all of Virginia and included some information from other colonies, Scotland, England etc. Not all the issues survived, and some have surfaced since they were first reproduced on microfilm in the mid-twentieth century that is the basis for the digital version.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Login required
Dates covered: 1889-1994 from Proquest
The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington Post This link opens in a new window
from Proquest
The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Midwestern Newspapers

(Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota)

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender This link opens in a new window
Login required from Proquest
When Abbott died in 1940, his nephew John Sengstacke became editor and publisher of the Defender, which began publishing on a daily basis in 1956. Full text of this newspaper is available in both the Black Studies Center and ProQuest Historical Newspapers databases.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune This link opens in a new window
Login required
Dates covered: 1849-1988
The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
ProQuest Civil War Era This link opens in a new window
Login required
Dates covered: 1840-1865
Includes the the full run of 2 Ohio newspapers:
The Columbus [Ohio] Gazette (1856-1865),
The Daily Ohio State Journal (1840-1841, 1849-1853).
Materials were specifically selected for regional and diverse perspectives they offer; newspapers include Richmond Dispatch, Charleston Mercury, New Orleans Times Picayune, Boston Herald, New York Herald, Columbus State Journal, The Kentucky Daily Journal, and the Memphis Daily Appeal. Pamphlets come from two important collections: Slavery and Anti-Slavery Pamphlets from the Libraries of Salmon P. Chase & John P. Hale and Civil War Pamphlets 1861-1865.

Northwestern Newspapers

(Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington)

Oregon Historic Newspapers
Dates covered: 1860-1922
more...less...
46 newspapers have been digitized so far, with over 180,000 pages made available.
Washington State Historic Newspapers
Dates covered: 1852-2010

Southwestern Newspapers

(Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas)

Arizona Digital Newspaper Program
Dates covered: 1859-1978
Colorado's Historical Newspapers Collection
Dates covered: 1859 - 1923
more...less...
Currently includes more than 500,000 digitized pages, representing 163 individual newspaper titles published in Colorado from 1859 to 1923.
New Mexico Newspaper Project
Dates covered: 1844-present
more...less...
This site contains mostly descriptive information about NM newspapers and where copies are available. The information includes title, place of publication (city and county), publisher, dates that the newspaper was published, language, frequency of publication, and holdings locations for the various institutions. No one institution holds every newspaper, but this database will assist researchers in locating where the newspapers may be found. Links to digital copies of some newspapers are included as well.

Asian American Studies *

Contents