It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find databases by type, Market research & industry, company information, economic and statistical information, news and articles, and business reference sources
Business databases and access
USC Libraries subscribes to over 100 business and economic databases. The databases below are among the most popular and are listed by type. We encourage you to explore these databases, but if you are looking for something specific and cannot find what you need, please contact us. We are happy to help you with your search: Contact Us
Additional research guides can be found here: USC Libraries' Research Guides by Subject select Business, Accounting and Economics to see a list of available guides.
Access to the databases below require you to login using your USC password and ID.
A brief description of the content can be found by hovering over the information icon.
Marshall students have access to few additional databases -- see below.
EMISProvides coverage of emerging economies in Africa, Asia, Europe and Latin America including articles, financial statements, industry analyses, equity quotes, macroeconomic statistics, and market-specific information.
Mergent OnlineProvides data about companies, including financials, exeutives, reports, filings, news, and comparisons with competitors. Build your own report to find exactly the data you need.
OrbisUS and international company information from Bureau van Dijk including Datamonitor market research and company reports (same content as Mint Global with a different interface).
OSIRISUS and international public company information from Bureau van Dijk.
PrivCoPrivCo is the premiere source for business and financial research on non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed and international unlisted companies. You must create an account (USC e-mail address) to login.
Standard and Poor's NetAdvantageDetailed data on specific companies and industries, including profiles, financial data, stock information, competitors and competition, and forecasts for future business.
Thomson OneProvides detailed company information including financials, ratios, news, filings, and the company research and analyst reports formerly found in the Investext database.
Thomson One can only be accessed via IE Explorer 8,9 and sometimes 11.
FactSet accounts are available to current faculty, staff and students at USC, consult the FactSet Research Guide for instructions on how to set up your own virtual account.
Journals and Newspapers
Bloomberg Businessweek ArchiveBloomberg Businessweek Magazine Archive is the digital version of the Businessweek backfile. With coverage starting at the magazine’s first issue in 1929, the archive contains more than 65 years' worth of content.Content Includes coverage from 1929 to 2000.
EBSCO Business Source CompleteThis database provides articles from business journals, magazines and newspapers including the Harvard Business Review, McKinsey Quarterly and many others.
ProQuest BusinessProQuest Business provides full text access to articles, reports and other resources in nine databases including ABI/Inform, the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Business Dissertations, Historical Annual Reports and more. An excellent starting point for business research.
Agency Database contains detailed profiles of close to 15,000 U.S. and international agencies, including clients, fields of specialization, and more. Advertiser Database contains exclusive information on nearly 21,000 U.S. and international advertisers who each spend more than $200,000 annually on advertising. Use Quick Search or Advanced Search to access one or both databases.
2 users access
BCC ResearchBCC Research provides objective, unbiased measurement and assessment of market opportunities with detailed market research reports.
eMarketereMarketer provides analysis, market data, and statistics on the Internet, e-commerce, online marketing, social media, and emerging digital technologies around the world.
ForresterTechnology and market research from Forrester Research, Inc. focusing on the business implications of technology change.
Frost & SullivanIndustry and technology research from this global consulting firm covering US and international markets in areas such as information and communication technology, healthcare, automotive and transportation, measurement and instrumentation, chemicals, materials, energy, industrial automation, aerospace and defense, environment and buildings, electronics and security, metals, minerals and much more.
Single-click downloading of entire reports is not enabled for students.
GartnerResearch from Gartner, Inc., an information technology research and advisory company. Gartner works with clients to research, analyze and interpret the business of IT.
Not all documents are available in full-text form. Use the "Advanced Search" feature to locate full-text articles available to USC users.
IBISWorldIndustry Market Research reports and Industry Risk Ratings. Focuses on United States, but has some data on global markets.
MarketResearch.com AcademicFind lengthy, detailed market reports or brief white papers describing all types of businesses. Covers international and US markets.
MintelMintel Oxygen provides detailed market research reports in the areas of Beauty & Personal Care, Drink, Food, Leisure & Entertainment, Lifestyles, and Retailing and Apparel.
Users must create a personal account and reports can only be downloaded one section at a time.
PassportThe Passport/GMID (Global Market Information Database) by Euromonitor provides a wide range of consumer market and industry information in more than 80 countries around the world.
It includes company profiles, some with SWOT analysis, country briefings, sector briefings, sector data, industry watch articles and detailed Consumer Lifestyle reports.
SBRnet's site combines market research from the largest single research supplier to the industry, the National Sporting Goods Association; the U.S. Department of Commerce; various sports governing bodies; and full-text articles from 14 magazines and newsletters published by VNU, the world's largest sporting goods trade publisher, and newsletters provided by leading independent industry experts.
SNL UnlimitedSNL Kagan provides financial data, analytics, research reports and other information on media and communications companies including wire-line, wireless, cable, satellite, broadcasting, content, distribution, publishing, advertising, and new media. New users are required to create an individual user account using their USC email address. Works best with Chrome and IE; does not work with Firefox . Provided by S&P Global.
The print versions are useful when you have specific publications in mind, but our online access allows you to search across publications using keywords.
StatistaStatista is one of the first statistic portals in the world to integrate data on over 80.000 topics from over 18.000 sources onto a single professional platform and providing companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
data.census.govData from the decennial Census and the American Community Survey about households, education, income, homeownership, business, and more.
Data Planet Statistical DatasetsData-Planet (formerly ProQuest Statistical DataSets) is an interactive database that allows users to create tables, maps, and figures from a variety data sources covering banking, criminal justice, education,energy, food and agriculture, government, health, housing and construction,industry and commerce, labor and employment, natural resources and environment, income, cost of living, stocks, transportation, and more.
Data holdings for the United States are significant with some data available at state, county, or local geographies. International data,available at the country level, include population, food and agriculture, labor, trade, and more. Data are organized by subject and source.
EIU Country CommerceA practical reference guide to the specific operating conditions, commercial laws and business regulations in more than 55 countries.
It offers guidance on issues such as obtaining proper permits and registrations, protecting intellectual property and complying with local tax laws-including e-commerce rules. Provided by the Economist Intelligence Unit.
EIU Country ReportProvides detailed political, economic and business information on 180 countries.
International Monetary Fund (IMF) eLibraryThe International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary provides access to the IMF's periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. IMF includes information about macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, and poverty reduction.
RAND CaliforniaRAND California provides a variety of information about the state of California.
California Statistics: statistical tables on business and economics, population and demographics, education, health, government finance, and politics and public opinion. Online Library: information and links to publications from leading California public policy and research institutions. California Policy Bulletins: summaries of state government news, published twice monthly (generally on the second and fourth Mondays) when the state legislature is in session and occasionally during other periods.
RAND State StatisticsThis database is sponsored by RAND, the nation's leading think tank. Contains four State Collections by geographic region. 200 Social Science databases covering all 50 states, plus 80 detailed databases on California, 30 on New York, and 60 on Texas.
SimplyAnalyticsThis database from Geographic Research, Inc. enables non-technical users to quickly create thematic maps, reports, ring studies and location analyses using extensive demographic, social, business and marketing data from many sources including the US Census, Experian Simmons and more. Access to the database is limited to 10 users.
Social ExplorerVisually display demographic data in the U.S. from 1790-present at a variety of geographic levels. Create reports, maps and animations that can be downloaded.
Marshall Databases available to students, faculty and staff with MyMarsahll logins only
Financial Times subscriptions are available to current Marshall staff, faculty and students. To get a virtual account, go to your MyMarshall account, under the library tile, find Financial Times link to register and get a virtual account.
PitchBook accounts are available to current Marshall students, faculty and staff. Register for your own account is via one of two, (non-Bloomberg) terminals located in the Gaughan & Tiberti Library. Sign into the terminal using your Marshall ID and password, then, find the PitchBook icon. You will prompted for you name and e-mail (please use your Marshall e-mail) and PitchBook will send you information to set up your own virtual account
Bloomberg terminals are located in the Gaughan & Tiberti Library and the Accounting Library. You can recognize the Bloomberg terminals by double displays. There is no virtual access, so you must come into the library to use Bloomberg. However, you can create your own account so you can save your work. Bloomberg basics and commands can be found on the Bloomberg Research Guide.
You can learn how to use Bloomberg via their course: Bloomberg Market Concepts (BMC). You will find a tab in the Bloomberg Guide-BMC tab provide details on the course and how to access this course.
There are two Capital IQ stations that are located in the Gaughan & Tiberti LIbrary (look for the terminals with a single display). To log onto the terminal you must use your Marshall ID and password, and select the Capital IQ icon. Virtual account are provided when taking a finance class and when the professor requests accounts on behalf of the students in the class or working on special research projects with a professor.
FactSet accounts are available to all current faculty, staff and students at USC; consult the FactSet Research Guide for instructions on how to set up your own virtual account.