Online Reference Collections
Want to learn more about your topic? Are you looking for information about the history of your topic? Use the recommended sources below to find background information on a topic, issue, or person relevant to the field of social work.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowCredo Reference is a digital reference library that places a world of factual information at your fingertips. Containing a selection from 645 high-quality reference books from the world's leading publishers, Credo Reference is the ideal place to start any research.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary collection of encyclopedias and reference sources within the Gale eBooks platform
- Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new windowDeveloped cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowThe Core Collection brings together 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works - containing well over 60,000 pages - into a single cross-searchable resource. Access to the database is limited to 5 users.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new windowThe Oxford Research Encyclopedias(OREs) offer long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. USC provides access to the ORE Encyclopedia of Social Work, Oxford Classical Dictionary, American History, Education, Communication, Latin American History, Literature, Religion, Climate Science, Environmental Science, International Studies, Linguistics and Politics.
- SAGE eReference This link opens in a new windowSage e-Reference is a full-text collection of over 80 online specialized encyclopedias in the social sciences, including communications, gender studies, social work, history, psychology, etc.
Selected Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Handbooks for Social Work
Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence by Call Number: Doheny Library Reference HV6626 .E534 2007ISBN: 9780415969680
- Dictionary of Social Work and Social CareCovering social work theories, methods, policies, organisations, and statutes, as well as key terms from interdisciplinary topics such as health and education, this is the most up-to-date dictionary of its kind available.
- Encyclopedia of Child Behavior and DevelopmentPresented in A to Z format, the Encyclopedia of Child Behavior and Development consists of three volumes that address the major conceptual areas of child development: learning, behavior, and emotions.
- Encyclopedia of IdentityNo matter whether it is a discussion of nationhood, race family, adolescence, or popular culture, identity is a mainstay in everyday conversations about who we say we are as individuals and citizens within a local or national community.