Sources for Political and Editorial Cartoons
List of Online Editorial Cartoon Resources (Compiled by the University of Southern Mississippi)
-
AAEC Editorial CartoonsContains more than 1000 cartoons representing more than 50 cartoonists, created primarily in the 1960s and 1970.
The cartoons reflect changes in American social and political attitudes and provide artistic commentary on such topics as the Civil Rights Movement, Watergate, the Vietnam War, government bureaucracy, taxes, and political corruption. -
American Cartoon PrintsThis Library of Congress collection contains close to 500 political cartoons and caricatures made in America during the 18th and 19th centuries.
-
American Periodicals 1740-1940Includes digitized images of over 1,800 American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the 20th century.
***To search for images use the Advanced Search form and select either "Editorial Cartoon/Comic" or "Image/Photograph" in the Document Type list under Search Options.
-
Billy Ireland Cartoon Library & MuseumThis Ohio State University Libraries site aims to develop a comprehensive research collection documenting American printed cartoon art. The scope of the collection includes editorial and magazine cartoons, including those by Thomas Nast.
-
Caroline and Erwin Swann Foundation for Caricature and CartoonNew York advertising executive Erwin Swann (1906-1973) established the Swann Foundation for Caricature and Cartoon in 1967. He was an avid collector, assembling a large group of original drawings by four hundred artists, spanning two centuries. This collection is preserved by the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress.
-
Clifford H. (Baldy) Baldowski Editorial Cartoon CollectionClifford H. Baldowski, known by the pen-name "Baldy," depicted the local, national, and international news in the editorial pages of the Augusta Chronicle, Miami Herald, and Atlanta Constitution. His work covers the Civil Rights Movement, the Cold War, the Vietnam conflict, Middle East tensions, and Watergate. This collection contains approximately 2,600 cartoons.
-
Frank Leslie's Illustrated NewspaperDates covered: 1855-1892
One of the most successful pictorial news magazines of the second half of the 19th century. It was launched in December 1855, and, according to his colleague Richard Kimball, Frank Leslie commissioned engravings that were "exact illustrations of the current events of the day."
-
Gerritsen Collection(1543-1988)
Contains more than 4,700 books and periodicals from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand. The anti-feminist case is presented as well as the pro-feminist point of view.
***From the Advanced Search form select the "editorial cartoon" check-box from the Article type options. -
Illustrated London News Historical Archive (1842-2003)With its debut in 1842 the Illustrated London News became the world's first illustrated weekly newspaper, sparking a revolution in journalism and news reporting. This collection contains over 260,000 full color pages, and is fully searchable and browseable.
-
Images of the American Civil WarLogin required
Contains over 10,000 images (photographs, posters, cartoon, maps, advertisements, ephemera, etc.) from the fields of battle, politics, and general society, enabling researchers to experience the events, both monumental and mundane, of the war that tested and defined the core meaning of America.
***To locate cartoons, go to the Search page and enter the word "cartoon" in “Image Type” box.
-
Labor History Cartoons(From the University of Pittsburgh) Fred Wright was an American labor cartoonist and activist. From 1939 until his death in 1984, Wright created thousands of cartoons reflecting the politics and labor issues, which were featured in newspapers, union publications, and overseas union activism. This Web site focuses specifically on the series of 177 "Labor History" cartoons created by Wright.
-
Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992One of the world's most celebrated and influential satirical magazines. The term "cartoon" to refer to comic drawings was first used in Punch in 1843.
-
Running for Office: Candidates, Campaigns and Cartoons of Clifford BerrymanBerryman was a political cartoonist for the Washington Post and the Washington Evening Star for the first half of the 20th century. This online exhibit features cartoons that appeared on the front page of Washington papers from 1898 through 1948, and gives a picture of the entire election process.