ARTstorNonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
Documents of 20th-century Latin American and Latino ArtThe ICAA Documents of 20th-century Latin American and Latino Art digital archive provides access to primary sources and critical documents tracing the development of twentieth-century art in Latin America and among Latino populations in the United States.
Countries featured in the first phase of this multiyear project include Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Chile, Mexico, Peru, Puerto Rico, and Latino USA. The digital archive is now available free of charge for students, scholars and the general public. New materials are added regularly.
Oxford Art OnlineGrove Art Online provides web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols.) with annual additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links and all the sophisticated search advantages possible with an online reference source. Access to the database is limited to 5 users.
Public Art ArchiveThis is a free online database that provides comprehensive information on public art in North America.
As of 2014 it includes the following broad categories of work:1. Public artworks commissioned through an official public art commissioning process, or acquired through a standard acquisition process (especially works that are maintained through Public Art funds). 2. Works of art that are commissioned, gifted, or granted by corporations, museums, educational institutions, private parties, and other entities for the purpose of being presented in public spaces for the benefit of the public.
American History in Video (North America)Includes the complete series of United Newsreel and Universal Newsreel, available in their entirety capturing history as it was made and reported to viewers of the time. Also includes documentaries from PBS, California Newsreel, A&E, Bullfrog Films, Documentary Educational Resources, The History Channel, and others.
The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. This release now provides 4,848 titles, equaling approximately 1,215 hours.
The core collection is comprised of evening news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004). Special news broadcasts found in the Archive include political conventions, presidential speeches and press conferences, Watergate hearings, coverage of the Persian Gulf War, the events of September 11, 2001, the War in Afghanistan, and the War in Iraq.
Early Photography of JapanA collection of photographs of late 19th to early 20th centuries Japan from the E. G. Stillman Japanese Collection held by Widener Library and the Fine Arts Library at Harvard University.
Vogue ArchiveA complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month. Every article, cover, photo shoot, illustration and advertisement has been digitized to the highest standard, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by designer and brand names.
This collection of primary source materials covers such topics as the Vietnam war, student protests, consumerism, music, fashion, etc. It includes the Social Protest Collection from UC Berkeley, a wide range of zines and alternative press publications, posters, and multimedia. The resource is provided by Adam Matthew.
University of Southern California Digital LibraryFind drawings, illuminated manuscripts, maps, photographs, posters, prints, rare illustrated books, and audio and video recordings in applied sciences, fine and decorative arts, history, performing arts, and social sciences