Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Introduction for English Majors: General: Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Reference

This guides is designed for new undergraduate students in English

Reference, General, Background Knowledge

Oxford Reference Online Includes Oxford Dictonary of Literary Terms.  A comprehensive collection of Oxford’s 100 language and subject dictionaries Oxford Reference Online: The Core Collection brings together 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works, include full text companions to American and British Literature.  Includes Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms.

Gale Virtual Reference Library Contains over 130 subject encyclopedias and reference books.

Wiley Reference Online

The largest social science and humanities reference collection available online  Includes nearly fifty Blackwell Companions to literary movements, authors, and genres.  

Oxford English Dictionary

"The OED Online contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3). Updated quarterly

The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. It also offers the best in etymological analysis and in listing of variant spellings, and it shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet."

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory
A guide to criticism from classical antiquity to the present day.

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Covers all aspects of philosophy from an international perspective.