It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A growing collection of the statistical abstracts from many countries.
These statistical abstracts are generally issued by the national statistical offices of foreign governments and contain country-level data not easily found elsewhere. Global and regional statistical compendia issued by international organizations are included.
Data-Planet (formerly ProQuest Statistical DataSets) is an interactive database that allows users to create tables, maps, and figures from a variety data sources covering banking, criminal justice, education,energy, food and agriculture, government, health, housing and construction,industry and commerce, labor and employment, natural resources and environment, income, cost of living, stocks, transportation, and more.
Data holdings for the United States are significant with some data available at state, county, or local geographies. International data,available at the country level, include population, food and agriculture, labor, trade, and more. Data are organized by subject and source.
Produced by a joint venture of the American Statistical Association (ASA) and the Institute of Mathematical Statistics (IMS), this bibliographic index covers publications dealing with statistics and related fields. Materials indexed include journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, dictionaries, encyclopedias, reference resources, and web sites.
Provides access to a comprehensive online archive of social science research data. Subject coverage ranges from political science, sociology, and criminal justice to economics, education, health science, and psychology.
A data use tutorial is provided. NOTE: Data must not be shared with anyone other than current UTEP faculty, staff, and students. Authorized users will need to create a "MyData" account in order to download data files. The ICPSR Codebooks are available via Nugget, the UTEP Library Catalog.
Provides access to statistics produced by the U.S. government, major international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities.
Provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic. Includes data and trend information on such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more.
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research does not take policy positions.
Founded in 2001, the Pew Hispanic Center is a nonpartisan research organization that seeks to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos’ growing impact on the nation. The Center does not take positions on policy issues.
Annual compilation from the World Bank of statistical data about development, covering over 200 countries. Under 'topic,' select "Development framework" and then "Communications."
Having accurate information is essential in news reporting. It is always necessary to check that facts and information reported in a story are accurate. Here are a few resources that provide a starting point for this important step:
A project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania that monitors the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases. Their goal is to apply the best practices of both journalism and scholarship, and to increase public knowledge and understanding.
The web review tools provided here enable people to rate stories for accuracy, fairness, sourcing, context and other core journalistic principles — and become more discriminating news consumers in the process.
PolitiFact is a project of the Tampa Bay Times and its partners to help you find the truth in politics. Reporters and researchers from PolitiFact examine statements by members of Congress, state legislators, governors, mayors, the president, cabinet secretaries, lobbyists, and more.