It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The ISRCTN (International Standard Randomised Controlled Trial Number) registers all clinical research studies (proposed, ongoing or completed) and provides each one with a unique identifying number. All study records in the database are searchable and freely accessible.
U.S. National Institutes of Health registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world. A list of which databank sources are included in the Medline database can be viewed here: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/medline_databank_source.html
Search for protocol and results information on interventional clinical trials conducted in the European Union (EU) and the European Economic Area (EEA); and those conducted outside the EU / EEA that are linked to European paediatric-medicine development.
An open, online database of information about the world’s clinical research trials. Matches documents and data for each trial including registry entries, papers, regulatory documents; methods and results; researchers, clinical study reports, and more.
Ed Silverman explores the development and marketing of pharmaceuticals. Topics include R&D, clinical trials, FDA, pricing, and marketing.
Clinical and statistical reviews can provide information on directions for use, efficacy & effectiveness, and safety. Some of the more commonly searched resources are listed below, grouped geographically and then by scope of coverage (American, European, Canadian).
The EMA evaluates and supervises medicine for human and veterinary use. To access documents, scroll to the "How to submit a request" section. Click the "online form" link or "guide on access to unpublished documents" for more information.
International Initiative for Impact Evaluation- this site contains policy statements, systematic reviews and a repository of impact evaluations.
Regulatory Information - FDA
FDA resources are some of the main resources to search for grey literature, particularly for documents about unpublished clinical trials. The most commonly searched resources are Drugs@FDA and Devices@FDA. See Paynter's guide for specifics on what and how to search these sites.
This agency regulates medical devices, food safety, drugs, vaccines, cosmetics, and tobacco. Find data on the methods of regulations, ways to report violations, lists of safety alerts and recalls, and approved products in each of these categories.
Search for prescription and over the counter drugs approved for sale in the United States; find approved labels, original application documents as submitted by the drug company, and replies from the Food and Drug Administration.
Search for approved United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA) medical devices. Results include links to device summary information, manufacturer, approval date, user instructions, and other consumer information.
DocuTicker collected abstracts from 'grey literature': PDF reports published by government agencies, think tanks, NGOs, research institutes and other public interest groups. Updated ceased in 2016, but this is useful for its extensive list of grey literature sources.
Containing millions of bibliographic records, this database is the preeminent resource for accessing the latest research sponsored by the United States and select foreign governments. The database represents billions of dollars in research. Contents include research reports, computer products, software, video cassettes, audio cassettes and more. The complete electronic file dates back to 1964.
HHS is the U.S. government’s principal agency for health protection. Content includes news, grants, prevention, and regulation information. Under the HHS Secretary tab find links to a blog, speeches, op-eds and more.
This is an interactive web application that produces health profiles for all 3,143 counties in the United States. This tool is useful for assessing community health status and identify disparities. Profiles cover health care access and quality, health behaviors, social factors and the physical environment.