It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The resources on this page provide a general starting point to searching for grey literature.
Here you will find links to databases that specifically collect and index grey literature documents. The search engines found on this page have been designed to conduct broad searches across global databases, including the deep web. The preformulated search strategies have been designed to filter for specific types of grey literature such as non-governmental documents.
Dean Giustini's comprehensive guide to grey literature resources includes links to many resources where grey literature can be found. Also provides tips on how to build and document your search strategy. See links to additional guides by Giustini that discuss understanding grey literature.
A directory of public health databases. Click the Free Public Health Databases link for the list of open access resources. This is helpful for resources with information in specific areas of public health.
Public health grey literature sources - includes links to Canadian, American, and international academic centers and public health organizations.
These resources broadly collect and index grey literature such as white papers, policy documents, summaries and more on global health topics. The first two resources are the most commonly searched. Additional resources are grouped geographically (American, European). Resources requiring USC login are listed last.
The New York Academy of Medicine's publication of grey literature publications in health services research and selected public health topics. As of January 2017, this site is no longer updated, but the resources are still accessible.
Open access repository to 700,000 bibliographical references of grey literature produced in Europe. Covers science, technology, biomedical science, economics, social science and humanities. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e4TOmYlqlMY
Contains findings on programs and policies identified by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to improve health and prevent disease in local communities. Includes topics, Task Force reports, and other publications.
Contains links to freely available disaster medicine and public health documents including expert guidelines, research reports, conference proceedings, training classes, fact sheets, websites, etc. Good for up to date information about best practices.
Preformulated search strategies that search high-quality, peer-reviewed scientific literature. Topics include access to health services, adolescent health, food safety, genomics, disease topics, and much more.
The search engines below function similarly to Google, but contain features and filters useful for retrieving globally dispersed grey literature documents. These resources are organized first by broadest global perspective, and then by range of topic coverage from broadest to narrowest.
Mutilateral partnership allows for search of national scientific databases in over 70 participating countries. Includes papers, multimedia, data, and public access content. Search available in Arabic, German, Spanish, French, Chinese, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, and Japanese.
Gateway to U.S. Federal Science. Search over 60 databases and over 2,200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, for research and development results. Topics include health and science, agriculture, environment, informatics, and more.
Search biomedical literature (articles, patents, white papers, grants) using semantic search technology that examines relationships between terms. Read this guide to register and use USC's Advanced subscription.
Google databases and preformulated search engines.
Automatically searches more than seven million patents from the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO), the European Patent Office (EPO), and the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO). US patent documents date back to 1790, EPO and WIPO to 1978. Search by criteria such as patent number, inventor, classification, or filing date.To search for legal documents, select the radio dial for "Case Law".
Think Tank Search is a custom Google search of more than 600 think tank websites. For the purposes of this search, think tanks are defined as institutions affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, non-governmental organizations, and businesses that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity.