Textbooks and suggested readings
Healing with Medicinal Plants of the West: cultural and scientific basis for their use. 2nd ed. by Call Number: Norris Medical Library, Webb Room, WQV 770 AA1 G216h 2005Publication Date: 2005
- Abedus PressPublisher of the Healing with Medicinal Plants of the West. Includes further readings.
Additional background resources
The resources listed on this page are a sample of what is available at Norris Medical Library with information on all aspects of alternative and complementary therapies. Contact a librarian, the reference desk, or search the Library Catalog for more materials.
- Review of Natural ProductsThis reference resource provides monographs for herbs and supplements. It is part of the Facts and Comparisons E-Answers database. You can only browse this source. Click on Drug Indexes on the right-hand side of the page, and select Review of Natural Products.
A Guide to Evidence-Based Integrative and Complementary MedicineCall Number: Norris Medical Library, Upper Level, WB 113 K87g 2011
Handbook of Nutraceuticals for Clinical UsePublication Date: 2018
Rational Phytotherapy: A Physician's Guide to Herbal MedicineCall Number: Norris Medical Library, Upper Level, QV 752 S388r 2001
Tyler's Herbs of Choice: the therapeutic use of phytomedicinalsCall Number: Norris Medical Library, Upper Level, QV 766 A964t 2009
Research resources
- Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new windowIncludes academic journal and magazine articles, reports, association and consumer proceedings, and book excerpts covering alternative and complementary therapies, including homeopathy, herbalism, nutrition, and traditional Chinese medicine from 1990 to the present.
- PubMed Dietary Supplement Subset (formerly IBIDS)This subset of the PubMed database provides citations to peer-reviewed and non-peer reviewed publications covering herbs, vitamins, and minerals.
- Natural Medicines This link opens in a new windowEvidence-based monographs and clinical summaries for alternative and complementary therapies, including herbs, vitamins, dietary supplements, and integrative therapies. Includes information from Traditional Chinese Medicine, Ayurveda, and other holistic wellness systems.
- Dietary Supplements Labels Database (DSLD) This link opens in a new windowThis US government-maintained resource includes labels from common-used supplements showing ingredients and amounts. Search/browse by ingredient to find products in which it is contained. Find contact information for supplement manufacturers.