Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Digital Humanities: OPEN ACCESS JOURNALS

This guide is intended to grow and evolve as new resources and research tools relating to the Digital Humanities become available so as to support the ongoing discovery and creation of knowledge by USC faculty and students

ABOUT THIS PAGE

The USC Libraries' databases provide full text access to peer-reviewed articles published in over 113,800 journals in print and electronic formats. See this Guide's page, DATABASES, for a listing of databases for the Digital Humanities.  On this page, the list of  journals provides a small annotated illustrative sampling of journals in the digital humanities which are published as Open Access journals worldwide. 

To access additional journals, please use the following resources:

CORE (Connecting Repositories, UK) provides free and seamless access to millions of research articles aggregated from thousands of Open Access data providers, such as repositories and journals. For more information, see brochure (PDF)

The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ - an online directory) indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals. It is a platform and organiZation with a global reach and a highly diverse audience: it indexes 15,100+ journals, from 134 countries, covering 80 languages.

Paperity is the first multi-disciplinary aggregator of Open Access journals and papers in all research fields, from Sciences, Technology, Medicine, to Social Sciences, to Humanities and Arts.  It gives readers easy and unconstrained access to thousands of journals from hundreds of disciplines, in one central location; it helps authors reach their target audience, disseminate discoveries more effectively and maximize research impact; and, it raises exposure of journals, boosts their readership and encourages new manuscript submissions.

OPEN ACCESS JOURNALS - Alphetical Order: A - I

The list below includes a very small sampling of open access journals.

CH Working Papers (CHWP or Computing in the Humanities Working Papers) are an interdisciplinary series of refereed publications on computer-assisted research. They are a vehicle for an intermediary stage at which questions of computer methodology in relation to the corpus at hand are of interest to the scholar before the computer disappears into the background.CHWP includes the following categories of publication: articles appearing for the first time; postprints, articles that were originally published in print form; preprints, articles that have been accepted for publication by print journals and that will either be withdrawn when published in print or become postprints; essays on the epistemology and sociology of computer-assisted research relevant to computing in the humanities; non-refereed experimental papers that exploit those properties of the electronic medium that are significantly different from the properties of print; mutanda, moderated but not refereed.

Current Research in Digital History (Vol. 1, 2018) is an annual open-access, peer-reviewed publication of the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University. Its primary aim is to encourage and publish scholarship in digital history that offers discipline-specific arguments and interpretations. By featuring short essays, it also seeks to provide an opportunity to make arguments on the basis of ongoing research in larger projects.

Digital Humanities Now  Since 2009, Digital Humanities Now is an experimental, edited publication that highlights and distributes informally published digital humanities scholarship and resources from the open web.

Digital Humanities Quarterly. An open-access, peer-reviewed, digital journal covering all aspects of digital media in the humanities. Published by the Association for Computers and the Humanities (ACH) and the Alliance of Digital Humanities Organizations (ADHO), DHQ is also a community experiment in journal publication.

Digital MedievalistDigital Medievalist (DM) is the international journal of the Digital Medievalist Community. It was established in 2003 to help scholars meet the increasingly sophisticated demands faced by designers of contemporary digital projects.  It publishes work of original research and scholarship, theoretical articles on digital topics, notes on technological topics, commentary pieces discussing developments in the field, bibliographic and review articles, tutorials, and project reports. The journal also commissions reviews of books and major electronic sites and projects.

Digital Scholarship in the Humanities. DSH or Digital Scholarship in the Humanities is an international, peer reviewed journal which publishes original contributions on all aspects of digital scholarship in the Humanities: Long and short papers report on theoretical, methodological, experimental, and applied research and include results of research projects, descriptions and evaluations of tools, techniques, and methodologies, and reports on work in progress. DSH also publishes reviews of books and resources. Digital Scholarship in the Humanities was previously known as Literary and Linguistic Computing. Read more about the name change and the history of the journal.

Digital Studies / Le champ numérique.  A refereed academic journal that serves as an Open Access area for formal scholarly activity and as a resource for researchers in the Digital Humanities working at the intersection of technology and the humanities, in particular: the application of technology to cultural, historical, and social problems, the societal and institutional context of such applications, and the history and development of the field of Digital Humanities. It is published for the Alliance of Digital Humanities Organisations under the direction of the Canadian Society for Digital Humanities/Société canadienne des humanités numériques (CSDH/SCHN) by the Open Library of the Humanities.

IMEros  An annual journal for culture and technology published by the Foundation of the Hellenic World. Articles in Greek and English.

International Journal of Humanities and Arts Computing. IJHAC is one of the world’s premier multi-disciplinary, peer-reviewed forums for research on all aspects of arts and humanities computing. The journal focuses both on conceptual and theoretical approaches, as well as case studies and essays demonstrating how advanced information technologies can further scholarly understanding of traditional topics in the arts and humanities.

OPEN ACCESS JOURNALS: Alphaberical Order J - Z

Journal of Data Mining & Digital Humanities.  Publishes scholarly work beyond the traditional humanities by focusing on the intersection of computing and the disciplines of the humanities, with tools provided by computing such as data visualisation, information retrieval, statistics, and text mining.

Journal of Digital Humanities (2011-2014). The Journal of Digital Humanities is currently on hiatus. JDH was born of the desire to publish the most interesting and innovative digital humanities gray literature. Funded by the first PressForward grant (2011-2014) from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, JDH was closely linked to Digital Humanities Now. Metrics for DHNow’s blog posts, conference presentations and white papers were used to identify content for JDH, where it was then revised, expanded upon, and eventually published in quarterly issues. Issues will remain archived and available for download.

Journal of the Text Encoding Initiative The official journal of the Text Encoding Initiative Consortium. It publishes the proceedings of the annual TEI Conference and Members' Meeting, as well as special thematic issues: state-of-the-art reports on electronic textual editing, current trends in TEI encoding, and new use cases for TEI. Furthermore, it provides a forum for articles on the discussion of the interface between the TEI and other communities, and more generally of the role of technological standards in the digital humanities, including digital scholarly editing, linguistic analysis, corpora creation, and newer areas such as mass digitization, semantic web research, and editing within virtual worlds.

Kairos. A a refereed open-access online journal (begun in 1996) exploring the intersections of rhetoric, technology, and pedagogy. the mission of Kairos has been to publish scholarship that examines digital and multimodal composing practices, promoting work that enacts its scholarly argument through rhetorical and innovative uses of new media. As the longest continuously-publishing online peer-reviewed journals in the field, Kairos is one of the premiere journals in English Studies, made so by its dedication to academic quality through the journal’s extensive peer-review and editorial production processes. For this journal's archive of issues click here.

Language Resources and Evaluation (previously Computers and the Humanities), was established in 1966 to report on significant new research concerning the application of computer methods to humanities scholarship in a broad range of fields including archaeology, art history, history, language and text analysis, linguistic and literary studies, music and the performing arts, as well as methodologies and applications relevant to the creation and use of digital texts, databases, images, sound video, or mixed-media. In addition to full papers Language Resources and Evaluation also publishes debates, review pieces, critical surveys, and brief notes and discussion pieces describing projects, intermediate technical results, new theories, methodologies or algorithms, and humanities data or tools of interest to the journal readership.

Lexicon Philosophicum - International Journal for the History of Texts and Ideas an annual peer-reviewed journal, with an interdisciplinary character. The journal provides open access to original, unpublished high quality contributions: critical essays, research articles, short texts editions, and critical bibliographic reviews on the history of philosophy, the history of science, and the history of ideas, with a special attention to textual and lexical data. A specific section of the journal is devoted to Digital Humanities (such as digital scholarly editing, corpora creation, semantic web research).

Literary & Linguistic ComputingLiterary and Linguistic Computing is the previous title for Digital Scholarship in the Humanities. All content published in volumes 1-29 of LLC will continue to be available through the LLC website. New content will be published via the Digital Scholarship in the Humanities website.

Pleiades. A community-built gazetteer and graph of ancient places. Pleiades gives researchers the ability to use, create, and share historical geographic information about the ancient world in digital form. At present, Pleiades covers the Greek and Roman world, and is expanding into Ancient Near Eastern, Byzantine, Celtic, and Early Medieval geography.

Text Technology  "an eclectic journal for academics and professionals around the world, supplying articles devoted to any use of computers to acquire, analyze, create, edit, or translate texts."

Vectors - Journal of Culture and Technology in a Dynamic Vernacular .   "Vectors maps the multiple contours of daily life in an unevenly digital era, crystallizing around themes that highlight the social, political, and cultural stakes of our increasingly technologically-mediated existence. As such, the journal speaks both implicitly and explicitly to key debates across varied disciplines, including issues of globalization, mobility, power, and access. Operating at the intersection of culture, creativity, and technology, the journal focuses on the myriad ways technology shapes, transforms, reconfigures, and/or impedes social relations, both in the past and in the present."