Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Digital Humanities: DH TOOLS

This guide is intended to grow and evolve as new resources and research tools relating to the Digital Humanities become available so as to support the ongoing discovery and creation of knowledge by USC faculty and students

AGGREGATES (PORTALS TO TOOLS)

Digital Humanities Tools -  by Alan Liu - One of most comprehensive website for finding and researching digital humanities research tools. Includes a list of other Aggregates. Includes online or downloadable tools that are free, free to students, or have generous trial periods without tight usage constraints. Ficus is on tools that can be run online or installed on a personal computer without needing an institutional server.

Directory of Learning & Performance Tools, compiled by Jane Hart, Centre for Learning & Performance Technology, UK). This Directory contains over 1,000 entries categorised into 35 pages.

DiRT Directory (Digital Research Tools). The DiRT Directory is a registry of digital research tools for scholarly use. DiRT features a variety of tools that run the gamut from software for analysis and visualization work to tools for annotating resources and managing bibliographies. Tool profiles include information such as what platform (e.g. Windows, iOS, etc.) tools use, how much they cost, and whether they are open source. You can also find reviews, tips, and tricks for individual tools.

TaDiRAH Taxonomy of Digital Research Activities in the Humanities. This taxonomy of digital research activities in the humanities has been developed for use by community-driven sites and projects that aim to structure information relevant to digital humanities and make it more easily discoverable. The taxonomy is expected to be particularly useful to endeavors aiming to collect information on digital humanities tools, methods, projects, or readings.

TAPoR. TAPoR (Version 3) is a gateway to the tools used in sophisticated text analysis and retrieval.  In 2018 TAPoR absorbed the DiRT project (Digital Research Tools) and now includes tools that work on non-textual data and tools that provide services used by digital humanists. This evolution largely reflects that of the field of digital humanities. In TAPoR you can:  Discover text manipulation, analysis, and visualization tools; Discover historic tools; Read tool reviews and recommendations; Learn about papers, articles and other sources about specific tools; Tag, comment, rate, and review collaboratively; Browse lists of related tools in order to discover tools more easily. Examples of the domains included in this resource: Publishing Tools; Communication Tools; Repositories and Archiving Tools; GIS Tools;  Browser Extensions; Photo/Video/Audio Editor; and Related Tools Development Tools.

Books ()

TOOL BOXES

At USC: Digital USC - Online Tools and Resources to help Researchers

Commons In A Box (CBOX) is a free software project aimed at turning the infrastructure that successfully powers the CUNY Academic Commons into a free, distributable, easy-to-install package.

DH Tool Box [2015]  (created during the HASTAC Scholars Unconference at Michigan State University on May 27, 2015).

Digital humanities resources (tools, reports, centers, conferences, research) Judaica Europeana.

Tools: Carolina Digital Humanities Initiative (cdhi).

Top 100 Tools for Learning (by Jane Hart).

TOOLS NOTED IN OTHER LIBRARIES' RESEARCH GUIDES

Digital Humanities Tools (Univ. of Pennsylvania) -  Includes: Digital Exhibits & Websites;   Text Analysis;  Mapping;   Data Management & Visualization;   Organizing Research.

As an introduction, the following is a sampling of some of the various types and examples of digital research tools (Source:  Northwestern University -  Digital Humanities - Tools and Resources): 

See also:

Research Guides:

Digital Humanities Tools ( Massachusetts Institute of Technology [MIT] Library).

Digital Humanities - Tools & Software (New York University [NYU] Libraries).