PitchBook - database
Search for recent information and data on venture capital and private equity deals, funds, debt , service provider’s investors/buyers P/E and VC activities; company valuation and other company information. This database is read-only (no downloads). Pitchbook i s limited to Marshall students, faculty and staff and must have a MyMarshall account. For account instructions, please login to MyMarshall, and click the link for PitchBook.
Search article databases for information/news on M&A activity. Use Thesaurus tools to look up terms (Mergers & Acquisitions), or search for companies with terms like Merged, Merger, acquired, and subject as M&A (use Thesaurus if possible).
This is a list of the key business databases at USC. Another list with the WRDS datasets broken out can be found here.
Publically available Primers and Guides
Step-by-step on how to search SDC for M&A deals. Includes instruction for on and off campus.
Use Thomson One 'Research' for analyst/brokerage/equity reports. Use Keyword searches to find analyst opinions on synergies, strategies and valuations.
See attached user guide for access (Internet Explorer 8 & 9 only!).
Includes instruction for on- and off-campus access.
League Tables are periodic rankings of M&A activity, including the largest deals and firms that are involved in these deals.
League Tables are available in SDC Platinum and Zephyr databases; Thomson ONE provides recent deals and allows you to search on a number of criteria to create customized league tables.