Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archaeology*

This guide highlights resources for researching archaeology.

Selected Journal and Bibliographic Databases

AATA Online, 1932-
A comprehensive database of over 145,000 abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage.

ABIA, South and Southeast Asian Art and Archaeology Index, 1996
Annotated citations in multiple languages. Also covers the culturally related regions of Afghanistan, Uzbekistan, Tibet, South China, and the "Silk Road."

Abstracts in Anthropology,1970-
Covers all aspects of physical and cultural anthropology. Includes site reports.

ATLA Religion Database, 1949- (some indexing back to the 19th century)
575,000+ article citations, over 239,000 essay citations, more than 530,000 book review citations, and a growing number of multimedia citations.

L'Année Philologique, 1924-
International bibliography covering all aspects of classical studies, including archaeology. Many citations are annotated, primarily in French.
Print index located in Doheny Periodical Reading Room
Call No. Z7106.M35a
Abbreviations used in the APh (Johns Hopkins)
Usage guide (Vanderbilt University)

Anthropological Index, 1957-
Indexes periodicals in the Anthropology Library at the Centre for Anthropology, The British Museum. Covers physical and cultural anthropology, archaeology, and linguistics.

Anthropology Plus
Combination of Anthropological Literature from Harvard and the Anthropological Index of the Royal Anthropological Institute (UK).
Provides worldwide indexing of all core periodicals, in addition to lesser known journals, from the early 19th century to today.

AnthroSource, 1899-
Anthropology index for many of the American Anthropological Association's most critical peer-reviewed publications, including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, Anthropology and Humanism, Archaeological Publications of the American Anthropological Association, Cultural Anthropology, and Ethos.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, 1934- (some indexing back to the 1741)
Indexes articles published worldwide, including archaeology and ancient cities

biab: British and Irish Archaeological Bibliography, 1695-
Citations and abstracts from the Council for British Archaeology

Bibliografia Mesoamericana, 1514-
A comprehensive and continually updated bibliographic dataset of the published literature pertaining to the anthropology of Mesoamerica

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS), 1971-
Article citations for East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide, primarily in Western languages
Some coverage dates to 1779

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), 1975 -2007
Covers Western European and American topics beginning with Late Antiquity (4th century). Abstracts in English or French.
Succeeded by the International Bibliography of Art

Gnomon Online, 1990-
Covers archaeology as well as classical studies. Includes a thesaurus that bridges the gap between English and German terms common to classical studies. In English, French, and German. Complements L'Année Philologique.
Produced by the publisher of the journal Gnomon (Doheny Journal Stacks, PA3.G6).

Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS), 1935-
The primary database for research on Latin America, it indexes books and articles on Latin America in the social sciences and humanities

International Bibliography of Art,(IBA), 2008-
Successor to the BHA
Covers Western European and American visual culture beginning with Late Antiquity (4th century). Abstracts in English or French. 

Israel Antiquities Authority Library
This library houses the oldest and most extensive collection of publications on the archaeology of Israel, including site reports for both Israel and neighboring countries, e.g., the Ancient Near East and Egypt.

TOCS-IN (Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists), 1992
Tables of contents from nearly 200 journals in archaeology, near Eastern studies, classics, and religion.
Only about 15% of the articles have links to full-text or an abstract.

Zenon DAI, 1956-
Union catalog of books and scholarly journal articles from 9 libraries of the Deutsches Archaeologisches Institut, with an emphasis on Greek and Roman culture,
but also covers the ancient Near East and the Iberian Peninsula.
Usage guide from the Clark Art Institute


For additional databases, please search here.