It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The traditional starting place for any librarian has been the Statistical Abstract of the United States. It is useful because it brings together a wide variety of statistical information from many different government agencies. You can look up a topic and then use the table information to track which agency may have more data. It is also an excellent resource for historical statistics and you can access earlier editiions online.
Because Congress discontinued funding for the compendium, ProQuest has created a subscription database and a print version starting in 2013. You can contact ProQuest for more information about the PQ Statistical Abstract.
U.S. Census Bureau's interactive database that provides access to current (2000 – present) aggregate Census and ACS statistics in table form. Includes detailed data breakouts as well as business and industry data. Search for "Community Facts," follow the "Guided Search," or go straight to the "Advanced Search" for the most flexibility.
Interactive mapping database provides access to select current and historical Census data. Use the "report" tab to create basic tables. Note: American Community Survey and 2010 Census data are only available via subscription.
Via the University of Virginia, Geospatial and Statistical Data Center provides access to summary level data collected by the U.S. Census from 1790 to 1960. Database generates longitudinal tables and maps.
Public-use Census and ACS microdata (for advanced researchers).
Offical U.S. Statistical Agenecies & Data Portals
In addition to the Census Bureau and census-related resources, there is strong tradition of statistical programs within the United States federal government. A comprehensive list of federal agencies with statistical programs can be found through FedStats.
Of the Dept of Justice. Their mission is to ‘collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.’
Need a table quickly? This subscription database allows users to search abstracts and tables within statistical publications of federal, state, and intergovernmental agencies and organizations and provides direct access to the full-text tables.
Interactive database that allows users to create tables and figures from a variety of national and international datasets. Data holdings for the United States are significant with some data available at state, county, and local geographies.
Subscription database allows users to create thematic maps, reports, ring studies, and location analyses using demographic, social, business and marketing data from many sources including the US Census. Available through Geographic Research, Inc.