EXTERNAL UNIVERSITY CLASSICS AND ANCIENT HISTORY WEBSITES
Many university Classics departments maintain excellent websites with links to a variety of resources, including software, discussion lists, organizations, electronic journals, etc.
EXTERNAL LIBRARIES AND INSTITUTIONS
University of California Libraries
The European Library: the National Libraries of Europe
WorldCat: Contains over 179,000,000 records for materials held by libraries around the world
USEFUL RESOURCES FROM HARVARD CLASSICS
Explore these compilations of useful resources, compiled by the Harvard University Department of the Classics:
GETTY MUSEUM - ORIGIN OF FLOWER CROWNS
The Ancient Origins of a Snapchat Filter
Wearing leaves and flowers as a headpiece has a rich history dating back to the ancient classical world.
The flower crown is today a fashionable accessory synonymous with Coachella revelers and boho brides, but it’s not new: wearing leaves and flowers as a headpiece has a rich history dating back to the ancient classical world.
ONLINE EXHIBITION FROM THE GETTY MUSEUM
Engraved Gems from the Persian Empire
Personal seals carved from semiprecious stones and engraved with exquisite miniature scenes were used widely within the ancient Persian Empire. Explore items from the J. Paul Getty Museum collections.
SELECTED EXTERNAL WEBSITES FOR CLASSICS AND ANCIENT HISTORY
Society for Classical Studies (SCS) - The principal learned society in North America for the study of ancient Greek and Roman languages, literatures, and civilizations.
Library of Congress Greek and Latin Classics Internet Resources - Includes related disciplines (Medieval studies, Renaissance studies, Patristics, etc.)
KIRKE (Internetressourcen fur die Klassische Philologie aus Berlin) - Extensive index of sites related to the Classical period of Greece and Rome.
Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World - Collection of 99 maps on CD-ROM and in print, housed in Doheny Memorial Library
Ancient World Mapping Center - Contains a collection of links to online maps and mapping projects related to the ancient world.
The Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names (TGN) - A structured vocabulary of around 1mil geographic names, focusing on places important for the study of art and architecture.
Nestor - An international bibliography of Aegean, eastern Mediterranean, and southeastern European prehistory, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics and related fields.
Perseus Digital Library - Under development since 1987, covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.
Ancient World Online (AWOL) - A scholarly blog with a primary focus on open access materials relating to the ancient world.
THE BRITISH MUSEUM
International Touring Exhibition
Ancient Greeks: Athletes, Warriors and Heroes
In this compelling exhibition of beautiful sculpture, jewellery, armour, vases and ancient sporting paraphernalia, objects are employed to investigate the theme of competition in ancient Greece.
LOS ANGELES AREA MUSEUMS
Visit some of the many world-class museums in the Los Angeles Area!
PLEIADES
Pleiades: a community-built gazetteer and graph of ancient places.
Pleiades is a community-built gazetteer and graph of ancient places. It publishes authoritative information about ancient places and spaces, providing unique services for finding, displaying, and reusing that information under open license.
EXPLORE UNESCO WORLD HERITAGE SITE: HERCULANEUM
The Herculaneum Society: Supporting World Heritage at Herculaneum
The eruption of Vesuvius that burnt and buried the Roman seaside town of Herculaneum in 79 CE left it better preserved than nearby Pompeii, and together they provide a uniquely vivid picture of Roman life. The Herculaneum Society offers access to the latest research and expert-led visits to the World Heritage site of Herculaneum, near Naples, Italy.
THESAURUS LINGUAE GRAECAE
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae: A Digital Library of Greek Literature
The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae is a Special Research Program at the University of California, Irvine. Founded in 1972, the TLG represents the first effort in the Humanities to produce a large digital corpus of literary texts. Since its inception the project has collected and digitized most texts written in Greek from Homer (8 c. B.C.) to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453.
THE "TREU HEAD": A VIRTUAL COLOR RECONSTRUCTION (5:19 min)
The Metropolitan Museum of Art - promotional video (2022):
The "Treu Head" : A Virtual Color Reconstruction - https://youtu.be/k5iEDtL2I8Y
Using a combination of analytical techniques, conservation scientist Giovanni Verri, with Thorsten Opper, Thibaut Deviese, and Lorenzo Lazzarini, studied the preserved color on an ancient Roman head at the British Museum. This digital reconstruction presents the researchers’ key discoveries and Verri’s interpretation of the original painting techniques, linking Roman practices with those used for contemporary panel-painting in Roman Egypt.