Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ancient Art and Archaeology *

Guide to ancient Greek and Roman art and archaeology resources

General Classics Sites

Electronic Resources for Classicists: The Second Generation. Items are grouped by type of resource (e.g., gateways, e-text archives, professional organizations, etc.) and include substantial descriptions and evaluations of each site.

Ancient World Wide Web (Virginia). A vast annotated repository of sites dealing with ancient societies throughout the world, indexed according in the following broad categories: Alternative Theories, Archaeology, Art, Building Monuments and Cities, Daily Life, General Resources, History, Inspired by Ancient World, Institutions and Organizations, Language and Literature, Law and Philosophy, Mythology and Religion, and Sciences.

Library of Congress Greek and Latin Classics Internet Resources. Includes related disciplines (Medieval studies, Renaissance studies, Patristics, etc.).

KIRKE  (Internetressourcen für die Klassische Philologie aus Berlin). Extensive index of intenet sites related to the Classical period of Greece & Rome, including many European sites not often listed elsewhere. Requires some German.

Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World. Collection of 99 maps with links to related material. The entire Atlas was published in print form in 2002.  It is housed in Doheny Reference Classics (Periodicals) Reading Room (Oversize Case, Call no. G1033.B3 2000).

Ancient World Mapping Center (U-North Carolina).  Contains a collection of links to online maps and mapping projects related to the ancient world.  

The Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names (TGN).  A structured vocabulary of around 1,000,000 geographic names, including vernacular and historical names, coordinates, and place types, focusing on places important for the study of art and architecture.  

NESTOR. An international bibliography of Aegean, eastern Mediterranean, and southeastern European prehistory, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields. Based on the print bibliography of the same name from 1957 to the 2001. There is also an international directory of Aegean prehistorians which can be searched by name. Sponsored by the University of Cincinnati Dept. of Classics.

Many university Classics departments maintain excellent Web pages with links to a variety of resources, including software, fonts, discussion lists, organizations, electronic journals, etc.

Return to Top


 

Subject Guide

Stacy Williams's picture
Stacy Williams
Contact:
Helen Topping
Architecture & Fine Arts Library
Watt Hall
AFA Instagram
Website