Skip to main content

International Relations *: Europe

A guide to databases and scholarly web sites in support of research in international relations and comparative politics.

Europe

  • Austrian Institute for European and Security Policy -- a private non-partisan research institute that contributes to the enhancement of the knowledge and awareness of European and international policies and security issues in Austria.
  • British American Security Information Council -- an independent research and advocacy organization that analyzes international security policy in Europe and North America and works to promote awareness and informed public debate of defense, disarmament, military strategy, and nuclear policy issues.
  • Center for European, Governance and Economic Development Research -- investigates European and global economic structures, the effects of economic incentives on a national and international scale, and processes of growth and development in developed and underdeveloped countries.
  • Center for European Integration Studies -- a research institute that investigates the legal, economic social, cultural, and political aspects of European integration.
  • Centre for European Security Studies -- an independent non-governmental organization that promotes transparent, accountable and effective government in the security sector.
  • Centre for European Union Studies -- a research center dedicated to the study of European Union governance and politics.
  • Centre for Policy Studies -- a non-profit think tank that develops and promotes policies to limit the role of the state, to encourage enterprise, and to enable the institutions of society to flourish.
  • Centre for Research in Post-Communist Economies -- carries out research into the problems of communist economies and in economies making the transition from communism to democracy and market economies.
  • Council for European Studies -- a leading academic organization for the study of Europe founded at Columbia University in 1970.
  • Defence Academy of the United Kingdom -- provides for the harvesting of ideas, expertise, experience and evidence relevant to defense and security and to provide relevant and timely research of high quality to the Ministry of Defence and other government departments.
  • Dublin European Institute -- a leading university centre for research on European integration and governance.
  • Economic and Social Research Council -- an independent organization that provides research and training on economic affairs, education and human development, environment and planning, government and law, industry and employment, and social affairs in the UK.
  • Europa Institute -- a specialist centre of advanced study on European integration in the United Kingdom and Europe.
  • European Centre for International Political Economy -- an independent and non-profit policy research think tank dedicated to trade policy and other international economic policy issues of importance to Europe.
  • European Centre for Minority Issues -- conducts practice-oriented research, provides information and documentation, and offers advisory services concerning minority-majority relations in Europe.
  • Finnish Institute of International Affairs -- a research institute whose mission is to produce high quality, topical information on international relations and the EU.
  • Geneva Centre for Security Policy  --  an international foundation established in 1995 under Swiss law to promote the building and maintenance of peace, security and stability.
  • George C. Marshall European Center for Security Studies -- an international security and defense studies institute that promotes dialogue and understanding among the nations of North America, Europe and Eurasia for the purpose of creating a more stable security environment by advancing democratic institutions and relationships in the field of defense and peaceful security cooperation.
  • Group for Research and Information on Peace and Security -- studies the role of the European Union in the fields of defense and security as well as arms production, military doctrines and programs, and the evolution of international organisations.
  • Hellenic Foundation for European and Foreign Policy  -- provides a forum for public debate on issues of European integration and international relations.
  • Institute of International and European Affairs -- an independent policy research think-tank that provides in-depth analysis of EU and international developments and their implications for Ireland and Europe.
  • Institute of International Relations -- an independent public research institution which conducts basic and applied research of international relations, often in the framework of the Czech Republic.
  • Institute of Political Studies -- a scientific institution in the Polish Academy of Sciences devoted to developing theoretical work and empirical studies of post-Communist societies.
  • International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) -- an independent center for research, information exchange, and debate on the problems of conflict, however caused, that have, or potentially have, an important military content and to examine factors that can lead to international cooperation.
  • International Institute of Social History -- the world's largest documentation and research center in the field of social history. Many historical archives are available online.
  • Istituto Affari Internazionali -- studies the direction and the aims of the European integration process and issues of the world economy and the internationalization of the Italian economy.
  • Lyman L. Lemnitzer Center for NATO and European Union Studies -- devotes its activities to the expansion and dissemination of scholarly knowledge about NATO, the European Union, and related European - American issues.
  • Norwegian Institute of International Affairs -- carries out research and disseminates findings on global power relations, security policy, development issues, international economics, and Norwegian foreign policy.
  • Prague Security Studies Institute -- a non-profit, non-governmental organization established to advance the building of a just, secure, democratic, free-market society in the Czech Republic and other post-communist states.
  • Russian Center for Policy Studies -- an independent nongovernmental organization which carries out research on international security, control and nonproliferation of weapons of mass destruction.
  • Statewatch -- a non-profit group that encourages the publication of investigative journalism and critical research in the fields of the state, civil liberties and openness in the European Union and its members.
  • UK Defence Forum -- a non-partisan and not-for-profit organization with an interest in exchanging information and views on the future challenges of Britains' defense by preparing and publishing research papers and by facilitating study visits.

Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.

Database

Gale Directory Library -- new online resource that allows you to search a variety of directories by name or keyword, including international research centers, broadcast media, associations, non-profit organizations, and government agencies.