It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We encourage USC faculty, staff and currently enrolled students to
recommend items for the library's collections. Subject specialist
librarians will consider all recommendations and make a final decision
on whether to purchase items.
Test References (APA) [Both of these reference books are available in our Test Instruments Area!]
Tests in Print (TIP) Publisher: The Buros Institute for Mental Measurements, Lincoln, NE. Most current volume: 7th ed. (2006).
What information is here?TIP
is a bibliographic encyclopedia of information on every published (and
commercially available) test in psychology and achievement. Each entry
consists of the test title, intended population, publication date,
acronym (if applicable), author, publisher, foreign adaptations, and
references. There are no critical reviews or psychometric information
on the tests; detailed information on individual tests is available in
other reference books such as MMY or Test Critiques.TIP was created to serve as a master index to the whole Buros Institute reference series on tests, including the 15 MMYs and the monograph series.
What tests are included? The only criterion for inclusion is that the test be in print and available for purchase or use. So TIP covers a wide range of tests across psychology, education, and achievement.
How do I use it?
Tests are listed alphabetically, within subjects. However, if you know
a test title, you can flip to an alphabetical index to find it. There
are five indexes: test title, classified subject, publisher, name (of
authors, reviewers), and a publishers' directory. These five indexes
are handy for locating tests by means other than the title or for
accessing whole groups of tests for making comparisons (e.g., all tests
tapping vocational interests). After you have located a test that
interests you, turn to the MMY for more detailed information on
that test, or use the directory of publishers to contact the test
publisher for more information.
What information is here? In the MMY,
tests are listed alphabetically by title. Each entry provides
descriptive information, such as the test name, intended population,
publication dates, forms and prices, test author, and publisher. It
also contains additional information on the extent to which
reliability, validity, norming data, scoring and reporting services,
and foreign language versions are available. Most entries also include
one or more reviews of the test and testing materials (e.g., manuals)
by qualified psychologists.
What tests are included?
The criteria for inclusion in the MMY are that the test be new or
revised since the previous yearbook and that the publisher provide
documentation supporting the technical qualities of the test.
How do I use it?
The introduction contains step-by-step directions for using the text to
locate testing information. If you know the test title, you can look it
up directly through the alphabetical listings. The seven indexes
arrange tests by title, print status (in or out), acronym, classified
subject, publisher, name (author, reviewer), and score. These can be
used to access tests about which you have limited information or to
access groups of tests that fit into the same category (e.g., yield the
same score or are all measuring stress).
The Test Instruments Area is located in Doheny Library, in the Times Reading Room, near the Reference Desk. Please ask for help if you can't find it -- our staff & librarians will be happy to provide guidance.
This list gives you an idea of what is available in our Test Area Reference Collection. These books do not circulate; they are library-use only.