Skip to Main Content
Research Guides
? Ask Us / FAQS

Philosophy Research Guide: DATABASES & JOURNALS

A guide to finding reference and research materials in philosophy for undergraduate and graduate students

SCHILLERS WERKE

Friedrich Schiller's (1759-1805) literary works, his writings on history, and his philosophical and critical works have been extremely influential. Schillers Werke comprises the whole of the Nationalausgabe, the finest and most complete critical edition of his works, letters, and conversations.

Schillers Werke

RLT #75: PHILOSOPHY DOCUMENTATION CENTER

Learn more about the Philosophy Documentation Center!

Research, Learning, and Teaching (RLT) Series #75: Philosophy Documentation Center

RLT #30: OXFORD ACADEMIC DATABASE

Learn more about the Oxford Academic Database!

Research, Learning, and Teaching (RLT) Series #30: Oxford Academic

SELECTED RECENT GRADUATE STUDENT PUBLICATIONS

PHILPAPERS

PhilPapers

PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. This database includes  journals, books, open access archives, and PhilArchive, the largest open access archive in Philosophy.

OXFORD ACADEMIC

Oxford Academic offers access to and discoverability of Oxford University Press's journals and major book collections in a single platform, including:

  • Oxford Scholarship Online
  • Oxford Handbooks Online
  • University Press Scholarship Online
  • Oxford Medicine Online
  • Oxford Clinical Psychology
  • Very Short Introductions
  • AMA Manual of Style

Learn more about how to access and utilize Oxford Academic by clicking the RLT link in the left-hand column of this page!

PHILOSOPHY DATABASES

Philosophy Database contains the full-text of more than 160 philosophy scholarly journals as well as more than 1,000 modern and influential dissertations, covering the period 1860 to the present.

Philosophy Documentation Center Online is an ongoing project developed jointly by the Philosophy Documentation Center and InteLex Corporation as a platform for full text and bibliographic resources in philosophy. USC Libraries has access to select journals and ebooks.

Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture: Complete online access to all the monographs in the Cambridge Companions series in philosophy, religion, and culture.

Gale Religion and Philosophy Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines of interest to both researchers and general users. The database offers balanced content that covers topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions.

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy:  All schools and traditions in both western and non-western philosophy are examined. Current bibliographies are provided after each article.