Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Philosophy *: POIR600: Political Theory

A guide to finding reference and research materials in philosophy for undergraduate and graduate students

Databases

Adam Matthew Database

Collections of Note:

Eighteenth Century Journals includes writings on the thought of people like Locke, Hume and Rousseau. There are even some examples of letters from Rousseau (in French and English).   A search for Rousseau returns 170 documents, many of them review pieces discussing Rousseau’s philosophy and writing – for example, this review from the Political Register on Rousseau’s writing. There are multiple volumes of the Political Register, and all discuss Rousseau. Sometimes Rousseau’s writing is directly incorporated into publications – for example a letter from him (translated on the next page). The same can be done for other philosophers – try searching for “John Locke”.

American History – can be consulted for the thoughts and negotiations that went into setting up a new political system, while the ongoing debates on slavery then raised the questions of the nature of humans, races, and political representation.   Includes items such as Locke’s Essay Concerning Humane Understanding [1st edition, 2nd issue]. The impact of earlier ideas on those living in the revolutionary period can be seen in pamphlets from the latter period. Note, for example, Arthur Lee’s references to Locke in A Second appeal to the justice and interests of the people and references to Locke, Milton and Hume in John Adam’s A Defence of the Constitutions of Government of the United States of America.  Other well-known political thinkers from the time are represented as well – Thomas Paine’s Common sense and seven other Pamphlet from the 1790s and first editions of Hamilton’s The Federalist, for example.  Note: Many resources on 'philosophy' in this collection are tagged as 'politics.'

 

Eighteenth Century Drama –  Contains a set of documents in the form of the diaries of Anna Larpent, which record the life and interests of an education eighteenth-century British woman. She lists everything that she reads, over the course of many years, and this includes the philosophical writings of the day – for example, there are entries about the writings of Rousseau – 11 in the first diary alone. Other collections that offer this kind of background context to what was being read at the time include Literary Print Culture. This collection allows users to find when philosophical works were first published, who authored and printed them, how they circulated and other contextual information.

China: Culture and Society –  Includes pamphlets on many different aspects of how Chinese philosophical tradition were translated and interpreted by western nations. It includes items such as Paul Carus’ Chinese philosophy: an exposition of the characteristic features of Chinese thought; writings on Confucius, Confucian doctrine, and the way it impacted Chinese civilisation; works on Faxian/Fahien; and translated works, such as The Zay-Nis of Yan-Ky, translated from the Chinese of Tay-Kin. There is also a considerable amount of attention on how European thought and philosophy entered and impacted on China. See, for example, The expansion of Europe in its influence upon population.

Meiji Japan -- Focuses on the life and research of Edward S. Morse while he was in Japan. His interests were initially zoological, but he ended up keeping detailed records of Japanese culture, architecture and religion. 

Race Relations in America -- More political science than political philosophy, with surveys, statistics and reports. Includes a series of speeches delivered by people at the Race Relations Institute that might be of philosophical interest.

Everyday Life and Women in America, Gender: Identity and Social Change

Defining Gender

Socialism on Film -- Includes documentaries made in the USSR about Karl Marx and how his thought changed Russian history. Examples include Glimpses of an Eventful Life and Karl Marx – Scholar, Revolutionary, Man