Business *: Financial Database Guides

A guide to business research at USC.

Financial Databases

The Marshall School of Business subscribes to multiple databases used in financial industries and business and accounting research.

Access: Available to current faculty, staff and students  PLEASE NOTE,  DATABASES ARE FOR ACADEMIC USE ONLY.  See individual tabs for instructions for creating an account and additional help. 

Please note: Bloomberg is typically not available virtually, however, during COVID-19 Bloomberg is making Bloomberg available via its Disaster Relief (DR) Bloomberg product on a month by month basis. Please see the Bloomberg tab for more information. 

Marshall provides access several databases via the Wharton Research Data Service (WRDS).  All current USC users can access WRDS via a day-pass that is generated by WRDS; just enter your USC e-mail as prompted.  If you are a graduate student or faculty member, you can apply for an account.  Please follow the instructions for application, the accounts are generally approved within 24-48 hours.  Accounts typically expire when the user graduates. Both user groups have access to the same data. however account holders are able to save their information/datasets on WRDS. 

Marshall has subscriptions to the following commercial databases that are used in finance and other industries.  Some have certification or classes to train the users. 

  • Capital IQ is available to all current USC users, but users must install and login to the USC VPN  Multiple help videos and instructions are available, no certification or classes are available at this time. 
  • Pitchbook is available to current Marshall students, faculty and staff, and must install and login to the USC VPN. No classes/training.  Help videos and instructions are available 
  • FactSet is available ot current USC users,  VPN is not necessary.  FactSet provides introductory and intermediate certification via its CORE program (type in CORE) 
  • Bloomberg is available under the DR Bloomberg product, month by month during COVID-19.  Virtual use is not guaranteed. Bloomberg has discontinued its certification course, but offers Bloomberg Market Concepts (BMC), a 4-6 part course.

USC VPN (Anytime Connect): Help: consult.usc.edu / (213) 740-0050.  Detailed instructions for installing and using the VPN: https://itservices.usc.edu/vpn/

 

 

Bloomberg

Detailed instructions for Bloomberg can be found on the Bloomberg Research Guide:  http://libguides.usc.edu/bloomberg

  • Bloomberg authored guides and  Cheat Sheets
  • How to Create an Account
  • How to find Company and Industry data on Bloomberg
  • Bloomberg Market Concepts (BMC): Bloomberg's course on market concepts and certification
  • Job Listings on Bloomberg
  • M&A on Bloomberg

Bloomberg terminals are located in the Accounting Library, the Gaughan & Tiberti Library located in Fertitta Hall, 1st  Floor) & JKP Computer Lab

 

Wharton Research Data Service - WRDS

Collection of databases designed for standardized quantitative analysis. Available datasets include:

  • CBOE Indexes
  • Compustat - Annual & Quarterly Fundamentals, Accounting data, Security data and 'Other Data' 
  • CRISP - Comprehensive Research in Securities Prices  (price, returns, and volumes)
  • CUSIP
  • EVENTUS
  • Fama French Liquidity & Liquidity Factors
  • Federal Reserve Bank
  • First Call
  • GSIOnline
  • I/B/I/S - Target price, forecasts, consensus estimates, etc.  by analysts - Integrated with Thomson Reuters' First Call, now discontinued (2012)
  • Penn World Tables
  • SEC Order Execution
  • TAQ (NYSE's Trades & Quotes)
  • Thomson Reuters - Trades and Ownership Databases, 13F, Mutual Funds & Issuers       

Thomson One

Equities information and Wall Street analyst reports, news and financial information on companies and industries.

Use the attached guide for searching Analysts' reports and 'non broker' research reports from MarketLine and GlobalData that contain SWOT analysis.

Thomson One is only available via Internet Explorer 8, 9, or 11

SDC Platinum - Marshall students and faculty only

Find data on M&A's, IPOS's, global new issues and venture capital funding. For access instructions and a step-by-step guide to creating an M&A report, please see attached instructions.