General and State-by-State Resources on Voting and Elections -- a comprehensive research guide created by librarians from across the country that provides detailed information on state voting rules, registration requirements, requesting absentee ballots, and important dates and deadlines.

Community Election Workers -- if you are registered to vote in California, learn how you can volunteer to serve as an election worker in Los Angeles County or your local community.

USC Libraries Elections Research Guide -- a comprehensive portal to additional resources for conducting research about the current election cycle.

NONPARTISAN VOTER GUIDES

• California Official Voter Information Guide – this is the official site provided by the office of the California Secretary of State, Dr. Shirley N. Weber.
• CalMatters 2024 Voter Guide – an organization with a mission to improve California’s democracy by making its government more transparent and accountable by giving Californians the information required to understand and engage with the government.
• CalMatter Digital Democracy Legislator Tracker – a resource to locate your California legislator and determine their voting record and how to contact them.
• CalMatters Explainers – topics include the most important issues facing California from wildfires, gun control, high cost of living to the water crisis. CalMatters explainers provide the data-driven context needed to understand key issues confronting the Golden State. Site includes Check Water and Drought Tracker, Wildfires tracker, and Homelessness trackers.
• Vote411 – this is a resource of bipartisan election information managed by the League of Women Voters of California. It provides nonpartisan information to the public with both general and state-specific information.

VOTING RESOURCES

• BallotTrax Tool – a site that can be used to track your ballot and view when it is mailed, received, and counted.
• California Ballot Propositions and Initiatives – site provides full-text of California ballot propositions from 1911 to the present. It provides the summary of the proposition, title, years, and voting results.
• California Online Voter Registration – an online form that allows you to register to vote in California. To register, you will need to have your California driver license or California identification card number, provide the last four digits of your social security number, and your date of birth.
• California Voter Foundation – a nonprofit organization that provides a comprehensive voter guide for California elections, information on voting registration, and a directory and map of California voting systems as well as current news.
• Find Your Polling Place: California – a frequently updated directory of polling places produced by the office of the California Secretary of State. Helpful resource for students living on or near campus who want to know where the closest polling station or ballot drop box is located.
• JoinCalifornia: Election History for the State of California – an online archive of California election results. Records currently include state legislative races since 1898, and federal and the statewide offices since 1849. The site includes a link to 2024 races.
• My Voter Status: California Secretary of State – this tool allows you to confirm if you are registered to vote, where you are registered to vote, your political party preference, your language preference for election materials, and more.
• Voter's Choice Act List of Counties – information about counties that have adopted the Voter's Choice Act in 2022, which requires participating counties to describe how the county will administer elections under the VCA and include their plans to educate and offer outreach to the public.

Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.

VOTING RESOURCES--Progressive

• Courage California – this site is intended to help voters evaluate candidates and measures from a progressive perspective in order to make informed decisions at the ballot box.
• DSA-LA Primary Voter Guide – this is a guide to races within the eighty-eight municipal governments and school boards of Los Angeles County with recommendations from a socialist or progressive perspective.
• Knock LA's Voting Guide – a journalistic project of Ground Game LA with recommendations made after extensive research by a team of the organization’s editors and writers.
• LAist.com Voter Game Plan – a comprehensive, easy-to-use site that explains and covers everything about voting in Los Angeles County. This is an excellent resource for reviewing local elections at every level, including profiles of candidates and ballot initiatives.

VOTING RESOURCES--Conservative

• Republican Party of Los Angeles County – mission is to advance the principles, ideals, and policies of the Republican Party and aid in the election of Republican candidates for public office. Site includes a list of local candidate endorsements.

Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.