Research Guides: JOUR 499 Ghana:Immersive Reporting: Databases

AP Style Book

AP Stylebook This link opens in a new window
The AP Stylebook Online is a fully searchable version of the AP Stylebook with interactive features and links. AP Stylebook Online include an editor login to add custom entries and notes to AP Stylebook material.

USC Libraries Databases

African Diaspora Online This link opens in a new window
African Diaspora, 1860-Present allows scholars to discover the migrations, communities, and ideologies of the African Diaspora through the voices of people of African descent.
History Vault: Slavery, the Slave Trade, and Law and Order in 19th Century America, 1636-1880 This link opens in a new window
This module documents the international and domestic traffic in slaves in Britain’s New World colonies and the United States, providing important primary source material on the business aspect of the slave trade.
Middle East & Africa Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Middle Eastern and African countries. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window
We have access to Part II-IV: (2) Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, (3)The Institution of Slavery (1492-1888), (4) The Age of Emancipation. Provided by Gale-Cengage.
These collections cover the transatlantic slave trade, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S., Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.It includes digital access to a variety of primary sources: legaldocuments, court records, plantation records, company records,first-person accounts, newspaper articles, government documents and much more. Also includes reference articles and links to websites, biographies, chronologies, bibliographies to give background and context for further research.
ProQuest History Vault: Slavery and the Law This link opens in a new window
Documents in Series I: Petitions to State Legislatures, 1777-1867 include primary source materials digitized from the state archives of Alabama, Delaware, Florida, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia.
The collection includes nearly all existing legislative petitions on the subject of race and slavery. Documents in Series II: Petitions to Southern County Courts, 1777-1867 were collected from local courthouses, and show the realities of slavery at the grassroots level in southern society. This collection also includes State Slavery Statutes, a master record of the laws governing American slavery from 1789â1865.
British History Online This link opens in a new window
Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust, the BHO contains some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isle, including the Calendar of State Papers. It provides digital access to over 1,250 digitized volumes with a primary focus is on the period between 1300 and 1800..