Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

California Social Welfare Archives

The California Social Welfare Archives (CSWA) was organized in 1979 to collect materials that chronicle the history and diversity of social welfare in California.

What's in the Archives?

The California Social Welfare Archives (CSWA) includes oral histories, agency papers, correspondence, minutes, memoranda, annual reports, research papers, conference proceedings, and newsletters. 

Access the CSWA online catalog to search for the materials we have in our physical collections. You can also view oral histories and recordings of honoree events from our digital library

Finding aids for social work and social welfare related archives

Academy of Certified Social Workers Competence Certification Board

Alice Overton papers 

All Nations Church and Foundation records

All Nations Church and Foundation photographs 

Aneita Tidball papers

California Association for Health and Welfare records 

California Association of Homes for the Aging records 

California Association of School Social Workers records 

California Board of Behavioral Science Examiners records 

California Board of Social Work Examiners and California Conference of Social Work State Committee on Social Work Education records 

California Coalition for Mental Health records 

California Hands Across America records

California Migrant, Transient, and Homeless Populations collection 

California Public Welfare decisions 

California Social Welfare Archives records

California Social Welfare reports, newsletters, and other materials

California State Relief Administration reports and printed materials 

Center for Healthy Aging records

City of Los Angeles Department of Recreation and Parks reports and brochure 

Community Chest and Welfare Federation of Los Angeles Area records 

Comprehensive Health Planning Council of Los Angeles County plans and reports

Council of Social Agencies of Los Angeles records 

Drug Abuse and Alcoholism collection

Economic and Youth Opportunities Agency of Greater Los Angeles records 

El Nido Services and Lodges records 

Family Service of Los Angeles Area and Welfare Planning Council scrapbooks 

Florence Crittenton Home of Los Angeles records

George B. Mangold papers

Gladys H. Culp papers

Greater Los Angeles Association for the Study of Community Organization records 

Harry Engelman papers 

Heller Committee for Research in Social Economics budgets 

Jewish Family Service of Los Angeles records 

Jewish Federation Council of Greater Los Angeles records 

Jewish Home for the Aged of Los Angeles records 

Lila Berman papers

Los Amigos de Humanidad records 

Los Angeles and Los Angeles County Children and Senior Citizens collection 

Los Angeles Area Federation of Settlements and Neighborhood Centers records

Los Angeles County Bureau of Public Assistance Division of Child Welfare records 

Los Angeles County Coordinating Councils records 

Los Angeles County Department of Adoptions and Citizens Adoption Committee of Los Angeles County collection of reports, brochures, and other materials 

Los Angeles County Department of Community Services collection of pamphlets and publications

Los Angeles County Department of Health and Los Angeles County Department of Health Services reports, manuals, and other material 

Los Angeles County Department of Mental Health records

Los Angeles County Department of Public Social Services records 

Los Angeles County Human Relations Commission collection of surveys, reports, and other material 

Los Angeles County Probation Department reports and studies 

Los Angeles Regional Family Planning Council records 

Los Angeles Unified School District counseling records 

Los Angeles Unified School District mental health research materials 

Los Angeles Urban League collection of reports, papers, and proceedings 

Mental Retardation Services Board annual reports 

Midnight Mission and Tom and Mary Liddecoat papers

National Association of Social Workers Medical Social Work Section records 

National Association of Social Workers, Los Angeles Area and California Chapters records 

National Travelers Aid Association records 

Neighborhood Youth Association records

Pacific Clinics records

Rancho Los Amigos Hospital records

Recreation and Youth Services Planning Council records 

Resthaven Auxiliary records

Rose Green papers 

Social Work Education collection 

Southern California housing reports and photographs

Special Service for Groups records 

Stanislaus County Welfare Commission and Welfare Department records 

Title XX, USC Training Series, Child Protective Services training materials 

Training Institute for Probation, Parole and Institutional Staff reports

United Way of Los Angeles records

Volunteer Center of Los Angeles records 

Welfare Council of Metropolitan Los Angeles reports and publications