Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Occupational Science & Occupational Therapy

Library Orientation

This self-paced tutorial will introduce USC faculty, staff, and students to USC Libraries resources and services. You will have the option to download a certificate of completion.

PubMed@USC Database Searching

This 3 video series provides instruction on how to search PubMed@USC for evidence-based practice literature to answer a quantitative foreground clinical question. 

Video 1 – Search Strategy and Search Options  ~ 12 min.

  • This video provides an overview of the overall PubMed@USC Database Searching series. It also goes over PICO to identify search concepts, how to develop a search strategy using keywords and Boolean operators, as well as how to search using the Clinical Queries filter and the Advanced Search Builder.

Video 2 – Database Features & NCBI Account ~ 12 min.

  • This video goes over how to manage, save, and share results in PubMed@USC, and how to register for an NCBI account.

Video 3 – MESH controlled vocabulary ~ 8 min.

  • This (optional) video goes over how to search PubMed@USC using MESH controlled vocabulary. Recommended for anyone planning to work in the field of research.

Mendeley Reference Management Software Tutorial

Evidence-based Practice Database Searching Tutorial

Tutorials & Videos

 

How do I find more database guides & tutorials?

  1. Search Google or YouTube for the name of the database plus training/help/tutorial. 
  2. Go into the database and look for a help section or question mark (?) icon.