Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English Literature since 1800: a library research guide: Research & Databases

Key Databases to search

LION: Literature Online

undefined

A comprehensive resource for literary studies: criticism, biographies, and primary texts.  Please explore author pages.

 

Would you like to look for more criticism beyond LION?

You can conduct a comprehensive search for articles via main USC Libraries page.

 

For more focused results, search for articles in key databases for  the field of literary studies:

 

MLA International Bibliography (MLAIB)

MLA International Bibliography (MLAIB) is an index to scholarly publications in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from over 4000 journals published worldwide.  This bibliography is assembled under the auspices of the Modern Language Association, the leading professional association for literature and languages scholars.  Mostly citation database, with limited access to full text. 

Project Muse

FULL text. 380 high scholarly humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers

JSTOR

Multidisciplinary collection of full text scholarly journals. RECOMMENDATION: Advanced search, and select your discipline and/or journal titles to search. NOTE: It is an archive, so please do not expect recent issues of journals in JSTOR.

Proquest Research Library

Index to scholarly, popular, and newspaper articles, many in full text. Good source for film reviews, both in popular and scholarly sources. Includes full text doctoral dissertations created at US and Canadian universities. Full coverage of Los Angeles Times.

How to do research?

Please watch this video from NCSU Libraries prior to your library session. As you watch the video think about your own potential topic ideas, and then answer the questions below.