Industry Information
Text from John Juricek's Business LibGuide
To understand a company and its competition, you need to understand the industry of which it is a part, even if you are looking for information about a niche industry.
Finding information about an industry includes the following steps:
- Get an overview of the industry
- Look for articles on trends and see if you can find forecasts
- Find financial norms and estimates if you need them
- Gather statistics from government agencies and trade associations
- Contact trade associations for additional information about the industry
Problems
Each information tool uses its own industry groupings and covers different industries
Small industries are often reported as part of larger industries in government data and other information sources
Quality, availability and cost of association information varies widely. Some of it is only available to members or for a fee
Emerging industries are difficult to research
Market Research Reports
To see Business resources checkout the Business LibGuide libguides.usc.edu/business
Use the following databases to search for market research reports:
- Insider Intelligence (formerly known as eMarketer)eMarketer provides information on online marketing, social media, and emerging digital technologies around the world.
- MarketResearch.com AcademicMarket research reports from several sources covering a wide range of industries, services and products. Content includes industry interviews, competitive analysis, market trends, product innovations, buyer behavior, and market share.
- IBIS WorldDetailed market research and analysis on over 700 U.S. industries as well as Global Industry Reports, China Industry Reports and Business Environment Reports.
- Mint GlobalUS and international company information from Bureau van Dijk including Datamonitor market research and company reports.
- Passport/Global Market Information DatabaseThe Passport/GMID (Global Market Information Database) by Euromonitor provides a wide range of consumer market and industry information in more than 80 countries around the world. It includes company profiles, some with SWOT analysis, country briefings, sector briefings, sector data, industry watch articles and detailed Consumer Lifestyle reports.
- OrbisUS and international company information from Bureau van Dijk including Datamonitor market research and company reports (same content as Mint Global with a different interface).
- SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network)Sports Business Research Network provides market research and industry news for the sports industry. SBRnet's site combines market research from the largest single research supplier to the industry, the National Sporting Goods Association; the U.S. Department of Commerce; various sports governing bodies.
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantageA comprehensive source of business and investment information, offering on-line access to Standard & Poor's independent research, data and commentary on stocks, bonds, funds, and industries.
- Forrester This link opens in a new windowTechnology and market research from Forrester Research, Inc. focusing on the business implications of technology change.
Subject Guide
Chimene Tucker
Contact:
Doheny Memorial Library
room 224
cetucker@usc.edu
room 224
cetucker@usc.edu
213-740-2332
Subjects: Communication & Journalism, Gender & LGBTQ Studies