Assignment 4
- An issue from your field that concerns you; or general interests
- minimum 5 academic sources for your topic on Assignment 4 (6 - 8 page journal article in your field) from newsmagazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, and books (or chapters from books)
- MLA format Purdue’s
OWL
Comments (0)
Handouts
USC Libraries Resources
- ProQuest Research Libraryto get news articles, scholarly journal articles, etc. for your assignment; full-text depends on subscription; citation of reference is provided
- CQ Librarybackground information of your research assignment (topic review report); full-text is available; Citation of reference is provided
- LexisNexis AcademicDatabase of full text online news, business, financial, legal, medical, biographical, government and domestic and international newspaper resources; Citation is provided;
- Wilson OmniFileCheck "Social Science full-text" and "OmniFile Full Text Mega"
- Music Index OnlineIndex of nearly 900 domestic and international journals in music. Full-text for some articles available through JSTOR. 1973-present.
- CSA platformsearch five databases: ERIC, Communication Abstracts, PsycINFO, Social Services Abstracts, and Sociological Abstracts
If the link is not working, please refresh your internet browser, go to "specified databases" and choose above databases.
Music Databases
- International Index to Music PeriodicalsScholarly and popular articles in music. Abstracts included for all citations. Full-text available for more recent articles. 1996-present.
- RILM: Répertoire International de Littérature MusicaleAbstracts of international articles, books, festschriften, dissertations, and conference proceedings in over 200 languages.
- Music Index OnlineIndex of nearly 900 domestic and international journals in music. Full-text for some articles available through JSTOR. 1973-present.
Sample search
1.Search ProQuest or CQ Library for the overview of your interested topic, e.g. the topic is "the internet's impact on the future of music industry", we can just search "music industry" AND "internet"
2. Search strategies and techniques
- Use "*" to truncate your keywords and get more results of your keywords;
- Use "AND" to connect your keywords in order to narrow down your search and get what you are looking for;
- Use quotation marks if you are searching a phrase;
- Search within "Abstract", which will help you find what you are looking for;
- Always pay attention to "suggested topics" or "subjects", which might give you good search queries;
3. Choose your interested articles, use "find it @USC" to get full-text (email the articles to you) and create a reference list in the required format (MLA)
Your Information Concierge |
Contact Info Office: 102 SSL (beside the 1st floor photocopier) Phone: 213-740-5775 blea@usc.edu Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...
