Skip to main content

Weeding Collections: Bibliography

Why and how to weed Doheny and other library collections

Quick Search

Other Weeding Projects

Dubicki, Eleonora.  "Weeding: Facing the fears."  Collection Building, vol.27, #4, 2008, pp.132-135.
Monmouth University Library.


Albitz, Becky, ed.  Rethinking collection development and management.  Englewood, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 2014.
Doheny:  Z687.R48 2014

American Library Association.  Collection Evaluation--and De-Selection (Weeding) Wiki.  Last updated November 2012. Viewed 29 July 2014.

-----. Weeding Library Collections: A Selected Annotated Bibliography for Library Collection Evaluation.  Last updated November 2012. Viewed 29 July 2014.

Gregory, Vicki L.  Collection development and management for 21st century library collections.  NY:  Neal-Schuman, 2011. 
Doheny:  Z687.G68 2011

Hibner, Holly.  Making a collection count (2d ed.).  Oxford: Chandos, 2013. 

Johnson, Peggy.  Fundamentals of collection development and management (3d ed.). Chicago: ALA Editions, 2014. 
Doheny:  Z687.J64 2014

Lambert, Dennis, et al.  Guide to review of library collections : preservation, storage, and withdrawal (2d ed.). Chicago: ALCTS, 2002.
Doheny:  Z687.2.U6G64 2002

Martin, Jim, Hitoshi Kamada,and Mary Feeney.  "A Systematic Plan for Managing Physical Collections at the University of Arizona Libraries."  Collection Management, vol.38, no.3, 2013, pp.226-242.  Viewed 29 July 2014.

Montanelli, Dale and Patricia Stenstrom.  People come first:  User-centered academic library service.  Chicago:  ACRL, 1999.
Doheny:  Z675.U5P3567 1999

Moroni, Alene E.  "Weeding in a digital age."  Library Journal, vol.137, no.15, Sept. 15, 2012.  Viewed 29 July 2014.

Slote, S. J. (1997). Weeding library collections : Library weeding methods (4th ed.). Englewood, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited. 
Doheny Stacks, Reference Desk, Grand: Z703.6 .S55 1997

Snyder, Cynthia Ehret.  "Data-Driven Deselection: Multiple Point Data Using a Decision Support Tool in an Academic Library."  Collection Management, vol.39, no.1, 2014, pp.17-31.  Viewed 29 July 2014.

Sustainable Collection Services.  Data-Driven Deselection. Deselection Knowledge Base.   Bibliography from a consulting firm specializing in academic libraries.  Viewed 29 July 2014.

Texas State Library and Archives Commission.  CREW: A Weeding Manual for Modern Libraries. 2012. Includes new section on weeding e-books.  Viewed 29 July 2014.

University of California, Irvine Libraries.  Bibliography.  Extensive annotated bibliography on weeding.  Viewed 29 July 2014.