Skip to main content

University Archives *: Home

This is a guide to the USC University Archives

USC News




National Coalition for History



USC logo

The University Archives includes material documenting the history and growth of the University of Southern California. Books (including faculty publications), manuscripts, USC periodicals and newspapers, ephemera, photographic images, disc and tape recordings, and other archival items are available for research under supervised conditions


USC Seal


The University Archives is the repository for the records of enduring value officially made or received by the University of Southern California, and for other materials of historical value related to the functions of the University. The University Archives collects the following types of materials:

  • Official records of historical importance emanating from any unit of the University including administrative offices, academic divisions, schools, departments, organized research units, the Academic Senate, University committees, etc.
  • Publications emanating from any unit of the University, including catalogs handbooks, program announcements, directories, commencement and stage production programs, art exhibition catalogs, research publications, newsletters, and miscellaneous brochures and posters.
  • Records of individual faculty and staff created in their official capacities in the University. Diaries, lecture notes, professional correspondence, and unpublished manuscripts of members of the faculty and staff may be included in the Archives. Although materials not created in an official capacity are regarded as personal papers, they often contain valuable information about the University.
  • Historical papers related to the University that are worthy of preservation.
  • The records and publications of University supported or affiliated organizations, including groups such as Town and Gown, General Alumni Association, and the Friends of the Library.
  • The records and publications of student and alumni organizations and groups, and the publications edited by students, including newsletters, correspondence, minutes, newspapers, yearbooks, literary journals, flyers, and other items of interest.
  • Photographic material, including prints and negatives of still and motion pictures relating to the campus, buildings, faculty, staff, students, events, and life of the University.
  • Other audio-visual material, including microforms, videotapes, audiotapes, and discs of University events, programs, speeches, interviews, etc.
  • Cartographic material and blueprints created as part of the official function of an academic department or service unit of the University.
  • An Archives reference collection of works published by or about USC.


Visit the USC website archive at the Internet Archive to find past pages and documents from the university website.


View a list of some of our important Collections.

Subject Guide

Claude Zachary
Doheny Memorial Library 220

Location & Hours

The University Archives is part of Special Collections. We are located on the second floor of Doheny Memorial Library on the USC Campus. The reference desk of Special Collections can be found in room DML 209.

Monday - Friday: 9AM-5PM
Saturdays during the semester: 1PM-5PM

Please be advised to contact the University Archivist in advance to make sure we have your materials available.