New E-Books
Statistics & Data Services Window
Pre-Colonial - Civil War1865 to PresentAmerican West & California
Multi-subject/Multi-era Databases and WebsitesAfrican American HistoryAmerican West & CaliforniaArts and LiteratureAsian American HistoryCartoonsChicano and Latino HistoryCities, States, and RegionsCivil WarEmigration and ImmigrationGovernment PublicationsImperialismLabor, Trade, and TransportationLegal and CongressionalNative American HistoryPresidents and the PresidencySlavery, Abolition, and ReconstructionSocial and Cultural HistoryWomen's History
This is the "Home" page of the "History, U.S. & Canada *" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
University of Southern California
USC Libraries
USC Libraries Monogram

History, U.S. & Canada *   Tags: american_history, core_subject_guides, primary_sources, us_history  

Last Updated: May 9, 2012 URL: http://libguides.usc.edu/uscanadahistory Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

New E-Resources - Spring 2012

  • Vogue Archive
    A complete archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month. Every article, cover, photo shoot, illustration and advertisement has been digitized. Available as of March 2012
  • The Pennsylvania Gazette
    One of the most important newspapers of the 18th Century, The Pennsylvania Gazette, published from 1728-1800. Published in Philadelphia, the newspaper was purchased by Benjamin Franklin in 1729.
    Available as of February 2012
  • 1940 Census
    The National Archives released the 1940 census population schedules (more than 3.8 million pages) to the public on April 2, 2012. In order to find a person in the census, you first need to determine the appropriate enumeration district (E.D) number. The E.D can be found by searching census district maps and descriptions, or by searching the 1930 Census for the address or person. Available as of April 2, 2012
  • March of Time Newsreels
    From 1935-1967, American theater goers and television watchers were witness to Time Inc.'s unique and controversial newsreel series, The March of Time®. This series is now available online in streaming video format which includes over 400 titles. The newsreels have been restored to their original luster by HBO Archives, allowing viewers to experience these historic newsreels as audiences did in earlier decades. Available as of April 2012
 

Browse through the tabs above to find books, articles, online resources, primary sources, professional and career resources, and more

Getting Started

Key resources for starting research on American history topics

Articles:

America: History and Life The definitive index of articles and other literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from the 15th century to the present

JSTOR A large and growing full text collection of core social science, humanities, and science journals. Some backfiles date back to the early 1800s. Also useful for finding book reviews

Books:

HOMER USC's library catalog, for books, e-books, films/DVDs, journals, magazines, newspapers, and microfilm owned by USC

WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) An online union catalog of materials held by libraries all over the world. WorldCat contains millions of records describing items (books, audiovisual materials, periodicals, musical scores, maps, etc.) owned by member libraries. Item records provide information about individual library holdings.

USC Quick Search  Allows you to use one search box to search USC's library collections and subscriptions, both books and articles (that we own in both print and online format)

Reference sources for background information

(More details about these online collections are listed under the Reference & Background Sources tab above)

Blackwell Reference Online  (most titles are also available in print) This collection includes hundreds of key reference titles relevant to History, Race and Ethnicity Studies, Cultural Studies, Environmental Studies, and Gender Studies.

Credo Reference A collection of close to 600 digital reference books from all subject areas

Gale Virtual Reference Library Contains online versions of dozens of encyclopedias and reference books from all subject areas

Sage eReference A full-text collection of over 80 online specialized encyclopedias in the social sciences.

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Beth Namei
Contact Info
Leavey Library, Room 113
213-740-8349
namei@usc.edu
Send Email
 
* Asterisk in guide title indicates core subject guide
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip