This is the "Home" page of the "Urban & Regional Planning *" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Urban & Regional Planning *   Tags: core_subject_guides  

Below are links to databases and scholarly web sites that support the study of urban planning and its related sub-disciplines.
Last Updated: Dec 3, 2014 URL: http://libguides.usc.edu/urbanplanning Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference Resources for Basic Background Information

These databases enable you to search the contents of handbooks, encyclopedias, and other reference books in a variety of subjects.

 

USC Library Catalogs

The library catalogs list materials owned by the USC Libraries and the libraries for Law and Health Sciences.

 

Introduction

The planning curriculum has at its core the study of urban and regional theory, planning history and theory, and planning methods. The North American experience is emphasized but English-language material is also collected to support academic program initiatives in Asia and Europe. Concentrations include land use, real estate development, economic development, information systems in planning, transportation planning, environmental planning, social justice issues, international planning, and the history of city planning. Overlap with other subjects include architecture, business, environmental studies, geography, history, political science, public administration, and sociology. Traffic engineering items are split between Seaver Science Library and Von KleinSmid Center Library for International and Public Affairs depending on whether the emphasis is engineering [Science] or public policy planning [VKC]. The Architecture and Fine Arts Library also maintains a collection of regional architecture journals that are used by faculty and students from School of Polict, Planning, and Development. Publications from the United States, Canada, and selected western European countries are acquired based on research and curricular emphasis within the School. Special attention is paid to materials about the Southern California region. Primary focus is on twentieth century and current materials with items about earlier time periods acquired selectively. With the general exception of dissertations and course textbooks, scholarly materials of all types are collected, including monographs [books], scholarly journals, microfoms, government documents, and digital resources. English is the primary language of the urban planning collection, with major western European languages acquired selectively. Occasional solicitation of municipal planning commissions in the Southern California region may be conducted to build and maintain the planning documents collection. For a more comprehensive overview and analysis of the current collection policy, GO HERE [pdf].

Political Science / International Relations Librarian

Profile Image
Dr. Robert V. Labaree
Contact Info
Von KleinSmid Center Library for International and Public Affairs
213-740-5824
Send Email
 
* Asterisk in guide title indicates core subject guide
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip