This is the "Home" page of the "Transportation Studies *" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Transportation is truly a multidisciplinary field, covered in urban planning, civil engineering, computing, etc. The aim of this quick guide is to give you some core links to resources on this topic; it is not an exhaustive guide.
Last Updated: Oct 1, 2012 URL: http://libguides.usc.edu/transportation Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Transportation Books in Our Collection

Transportation books can be found throughout the USC Libraries.  Here are just a few selections from the Libraries' HOMER catalog of our resources.

Cover Art
Handbook of transportation engineering - Myer Kutz
Call Number: TA1151.H34 2011 Sci & Eng Library
ISBN: 9780071614924


Cover Art
The Department of Transportation's oversight and management of hazardous materials special permits and approvals : hearing before the Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure, House of Representatives, One Hundred Eleventh Congress, second session, - United States. Congress. House. Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure.
Call Number: Y 4.T 68/2:111-105 VKC [note that govt docs use a different call # system)
ISBN: 9780160867460
This report is just one of thousands from the US government on transportation issues. You can find many government documents now in the VKC Library [http://www.usc.edu/libraries/locations/vkc/], easily accessible on campus!



Cover Art
Modeling of oil product and gas pipeline transportation - Michael V. Lurie
Call Number: TN879.5.L87 2008 Sci & Eng Library
ISBN: 9783527408337
Since the Natl Transportation Safety Board considers pipelines transportation vehicles, here is an example of a pipeline book in the USC Libraries' collection.


Cover Art
Torrance Airport - Lobb, Charles
Call Number: HE9797.5.U52T67 2006 Architecture & Fine Arts

Transportation Resources

Transportation is very much an interdisciplinary field of study.  Research breakthroughs come in all sorts of areas, from energy-efficient fuels, to walkability-focused neighborhoods, to large-scale computer modeling of air, land and see transportation routes.

Los Angeles County is one of the world's largest air, ground and sea transportation hubs.  We have:

A great deal of transportation research and study goes on at USC.  Here are just a few examples.

The National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) is responsible for aviation and railroad safety in particular, but also has some authority for marine, highway and pipeline safety.  Their accident reports (e.g. aviation) from their extensive database are instructive in many ways and can be used for research.

SEE ALSO:

this Urban and Regional Planning LibGuide which includes transportation information resources

The Dorothy Peyton Gray Transportation Library at the LA Metro Center - a great resource for images and more

Last Update:  August 2011

      
     

    A Few Transportation Databases and Journals

    TRB is a searchable index of the Transportation Research Board of the National Academies of Science and Engineering. The TRB Publications Index contains over 21,000 annotated citations for all TRB and Strategic Highway Research Program (SHRP) publications from the mid 1970s until present.

    TRIS Online is a public-domain, web-based version of the Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) bibliographic database. The TRIS Online database contains over half a million records of published transportation research including technical reports, books, conference proceedings and journal articles.

    The ProQuest suite of article citation databases indexes a number of transportation journals, most with links to the fulltext of the articles.  Here are just some of the titles:

    • Defense Transportation Journal
    • Global Trade & Transportation   
    • Institute of Transportation Engineers. ITE Journal
    • Journal of Air Transportation
    • Journal of Transportation Law, Logistics, and Policy
    • Transportation Business Journal

    The ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library of journals and conference proceedings contains hundreds of articles on transportation studies topics.

     

    Instruction Services for Faculty

    Instruction services for faculty

    To schedule a library instruction session for your class, in this or any discipline, select "Request-A-Class" below.  We have librarians and staff members who can cover research on any topic!

    Applied Social Sciences Librarian

    Profile Image
    Dr. Robert V. Labaree
    Contact Info
    Von KleinSmid Center Library for International and Public Affairs
    213-740-5824
    Send Email

    Order Books

    Don't find what you need?  The following services can help you get it:

    * Asterisk in guide title indicates core subject guide
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip