About
This is the "Home" page of the "Spatial Sciences & GIS *" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Spatial Sciences & GIS *   Tags: data, geography, geospatial, gis, location analysis, spatial  

USC Libraries and other related resources supporting academic scholarship in the spatial sciences.
Last Updated: Nov 17, 2014 URL: http://libguides.usc.edu/spatial Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

GIS Services in the Library

Research Help:

  • To get help with GIS or geospatial research request an appointment or email questions to Andy Rutkowski at arutkows@usc.edu.

  • Computers with ArcGIS and other statistical software are located in the lower level PC computer lab at Leavey Library.

 

GIS Services at USC

Spatial Sciences Institute at USC

  • Make an appointment with the SSI HelpDesk to find out how they can help you with your research projects.
  • Get information from SSI about purchasing software.

USC GeoPortal

  • USC GeoPortal
    Centralized repository of spatial data layers for use by USC faculty, staff, and students. The interface allows users to search, preview, map, and download geospatial data including contours, land use, parcel data, and select census data for Los Angeles. For more details including complete data holdings, see the USC Spatial Sciences Institute (link below).
  • USC Spatial Sciences Institute
    For more details on the USC GeoPortal.

Quick Start - Maps and Data

The resources listed below will get you started in finding GIS and spatial data.

  • Social Explorer
    Allows users to create maps and generate reports based on demographic data from the United States Census.
  • PolicyMap
    An interactive map viewer allows you to look at data that is focused on various issues around policy, including data on demographics, income and spending, housing, lending, quality of life, economy, education, health, and more.
  • SimplyMap
    Web-based mapping application enables non-technical users to quickly create thematic maps and reports/tables using extensive demographic, social, business and marketing data. USC users only.
  • American FactFinder
    Interactive database that provides quick access to Census statistics about population, housing, industry, and business.

Quick Start - Articles, Literature, and Archives

The resources listed below will get you started in finding GIS and spatial related literature.

  • Wiley Online Library
    An interdisciplinary collection that features collections in Earth and Environmental sciences as well as Architecture and Planning. This database also provides access to "Transactions in GIS" a key journal for spatial and GIS research
  • Web of Science (Web of Knowledge)
    Includes Social Sciences Citation Index.
  • Environment Index
    A comprehensive database to journal articles covering all aspects of environmental policy and politics.
  • JSTOR
    Known for its interdisciplinary scope, JSTOR also provides access to a strong collection of articles on spatial studies/GIS via subject areas including, Geography, Transportation Studies, Urban Studies, Development Studies, and History of Science and Technology.

    **The most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are not available.**
  • USC Digital Library  
      
    The USC Digital Library is a great resource for archival materials in and about Los Angeles. There are numerous individual items from particular locations, including images of streets, bridges, buildings, murals, etc.
  • ProQuest - Multiple Databases  
      
 

Sample Social Explorer Map

Librarian

Profile Image
Andy Rutkowski
Contact Info
Email - arutkows@usc.edu
Phone - 213-740-5398
VKC Center - RM B38b
 

Featured GIS Books

Check Homer for current availability:

Cover Art
Desktop GIS : mapping the planet with open source tools - Sherman, Gary E.
Call Number: VKC Library G70.212.S457 2008
ISBN: 1934356069

Cover Art
GIS cartography : a guide to effective map design - Peterson, Gretchen N.
Call Number: VKC Library GA105.3.P47 2009
ISBN: 1420082132

Cover Art
The KML handbook : geographic visualization for the Web - Wernecke, Josie
Call Number: VKC Library G70.212.W455 2009
ISBN: 0321525590

* Asterisk in guide title indicates core subject guide
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip