For Troy Johnson's writing 140 class (Spring 2010). SOCI 155g: Immigrant America - Examination of the immigrant experience in the United States. Comparative analysis of social context of migration, formation of immigrant communities.
Last Updated: Aug 17, 2012
1. Do a broad search, e.g. immigrant* AND food
2. Search strategies and techniques
- Use "*" to truncate your keywords and get more results of your keywords;
- Use "AND" to connect your keywords in order to narrow down your search and get what you are looking for;
- Use quotation marks if you are searching a phrase;
- Search within "Abstract", which will help you find what you are looking for;
- Always pay attention to "suggested topics" or "subjects", which might give you good search queries;
3. Choose your interested articles, use "find it @USC" to get full-text, and create a reference list in the required format (e.g. APA, MLA)
- ProQuest Research Library
to get news articles, scholarly journal articles, etc. for your assignment; full-text depends on subscription; citation of reference is provided
- Wilson OmniFile
Check "Social Science full-text" and "OmniFile Full Text Mega"
- CQ Library
background information of your research assignment (topic review report); full-text is available; Citation of reference is provided
- America: History and Life
The definitive index of articles and other literature covering the history and culture of the US and Canada, from the 15th century to the present
- CSA platform
check the following four databases: ERIC, PsycINFO, Social Services Abstracts, and Sociological Abstracts
If the link is not working, please refresh your internet browser, go to "specified databases" and choose above databases.
- LexisNexis Academic
Database of full text online news, business, financial, legal, medical, biographical, government and domestic and international newspaper resources; Citation is provided;
- American FactFinder (US Census)
Interactive database that provides access to Census statistics about population, housing, industry, and business.