Skip to main content

Finding Aid: Small Architectural Archives at the AFA Library: Home

List of miscellaneous architectural archives at the Helen Topping Architecture and Fine Arts Library

Brief Listing of Small Archives

Brief Listing of Small Archives

Small architectural archives at the Helen Topping Architecture and Fine Arts Library, USC

This collection is available for viewing in the Helen Topping Architecture and Fine Arts Library at the University of Southern California, Monday-Friday 9am-5pm. We do not provide reproduction services and do not have scanning facilities for our archival collections. The collections must be viewed on site. To make an appointment, call (213) 740-1956. You can bring a laptop or a small digital camera.

Drawer 1, Cliff May

  • Ranch House of Dr. and Mrs. R. G. Frey.  Red Bluff, California.  30"w x 40"h matted, 23 2/3"w x 29 3/4"h, signed by Chris Choate (1946).
  • Ranch House for Mr. and Mrs. W. H. Mettler, Malibu.  30"w x 40"h matted, 31 2/3"h x 23 2/3" w, signed by Chris Choate (1948-1950).
  • Ranch House for Mr. and Mrs. George Mee - Peach Tree Ranch, San Lucas, CA.  30"w x 40"h matted, 21 1/2"w x 29 2/3"h, signed by Chris Choate (1945-1948).
  • Ranch House for Mr. and Mrs. Preston Low, Los Altos, Calif. 30"w x 40"h matted, 23 3/4"w x 31 2/3"h, signed by Chris Choate (1950-1951).
  • Ranch House for Mr. and Mrs. M. E. Whiteman, San Fernando Valley, Calif.  30"w x 40"h matted, 23 3/4"w x 31 2/3"h, signed by Chris Choate  (1948-1951).
  • Ranch House for Mr. and Mrs. Cliff Garrett, Valley Center, Calif.   30"w x 40"h matted, 21 1/2"w x 29 2/3"h, signed by Chris Choate (1945-1946).
  • California Country Series (Mr. and Mrs. Dwight R(W)iley? Riviera Ranch House)  27 2/3"h x 21 2/3"w framed, 20"h x 15 1/3"w (1947-1948).

 

 

Drawer 2, Cliff May

  • Riviera Rancheria, Rancho San Vincente, First National Finance Corp. Entrance gate by Cliff May.  Drawing (?) by W. F. Cody.  17 2/3" x 23 1/3" unframed. (1945).
  • Rancheria proposal (?)  Floor plan and front elevation.  The drawing has the following stamp: Cliff May builder of haciendas and early California rancherias. WLA 353-97.  26"w x 20"h matted, 20"w x 15 1/4"h.
  • Back elevation of Donald Teis house.  Copyright Cliff May and Chris Choate.  Approximately 30"w x 19"h, unframed, very fragile.
  • Back elevation of Anderson Lumber Co. building.    Copyright Cliff May and Chris Choate.  Approximately 30"w x 19"h, unframed, very fragile.
  • Living Room - Residence of Mr. and Mrs. Frederic Blow.  40"w x 30"h matted, 16 3/4"h x 27 3/4"w (1946).
  • House Beautiful Demonstration Home - Woodacres by Elizabeth Gordon and Cliff May.   30"w x 40"h matted, 21 2/3"w x 29 2/3"h.

 

 

Drawer 3, Cliff May

  • Main Lobby Malibu Quarterback Club, Malibu, CA.  36"w x 26"h matted, 28"w x 17"h (1945-1947).  Poor condition.
  • Main Entrance, Malibu Quarterdeck Club - Malibu. 36"w x 26"h matted, 28"w x 17"h (1945-1947). 
  • Malibu Quarterdeck Club.  Typical guest room (2 drawings).  36"w x 26"h matted in one, 13"w x 11"h each (1945-1947).
  • Ranch House for Mr. and Mrs. Frank Appleton, Sullivan Canyon.  26"h x 20"w matted, 20 3/4"h x 16"w (1946-1948).
  • California Ranch House for Maria Shelton and Lou Alter.  Two views: Work room; Master bedroom.  26"h x 20"w matted in one, 9"h x 11 3/4"w each. (1949-1950).

 

 

 

Drawer 4:

  • Thornton Fitzhugh, Trinity Auditorium.  Drawings [copies].

 

Drawer 5:

  • Wallace Neff, Edward Doheny Memorial Library at St. John’s Seminary, Camarillo.  Drawings.

 

Drawer 6:

  • Welton Beckett:

o   Helen Topping Library, USC, 1987.  Drawings.

o   Watt Hall, USC, 1987.  Drawings.

  • Rudolph Schindler: Summer House for Mr. and Mrs. C. H. Wolfe, Avalon, Catalina, 1929. [copies]
  • Victor Gruen:

o   Interim report, Los Angeles County Parking Garage, 1957.

o   Greater Fort Worth Tomorrow Ordinance, draft, 1957.

 

Drawer 7:

  • Wallace Neff:

o   Los Angeles Millwork Co, 932 E. Slauson Avenue, Los Angeles.  Harry Kunin (or Kunen). Contractor L. D. Richardson, 1949.  Blueprints

o   Mr. and Mrs. Ralph J. Chandler residence.  1960.  Negative of drawings of colonnades.

o   Residence of Mr. and Mrs. A. K. Bourne, San Marino, California, ca 1965.  Copies of plans.

o   Pickfair, mostly drawings related to guest wing and alterations, ca. 1931.

o   Doheny Ferndale House. Drawings, mostly of garage and of addition to the house, dated 1939.

Additional small archives from Wallace Neff's office, located in the USC Libraries, are listed here.

  • Paul Williams, Mr and Mrs W. D. Hallett Commission.  Specifications, no drawings.
  • J. E. Dolena and Bert H. Ameche, Residence for Dr. and Mrs. Rezzonico.  1 photograph.
  • William Pereira, 3 signed drawings of sculptures from churches:

o   Virtue from Strassbourg, 1977

o   Angel from Regensburg, 1977

o   St. Anne from Stephansdom, 1977

  • Robert B. Stacy-Judd.  Binder marked 5039 Whitsett Avenue, North Hollywood, California.  Binder contains:

o   Resume

o   Black and white photographs of the following projects:

o   Aztec Hotel, Monrovia, completed 1924.  5 photographs.

o   First Baptist Church, Ventura, California, 1931. 2 photographs.

o   Monroe Residence, Sherwood, California.  2 photographs.

o   Armory, Williston, North Dakota, 1915.  1 photograph.

o   La Due Court Apartments, Williston, North Dakota, 1915.  2 photographs.

o   Philosophical Research Society, Los Feliz, California, 1935.  5 photographs.

o   Masonic Temple Building for North Hollywood Temple Association, 1932.  1 photograph.

o   Indian Village, Soboba Hot Springs.  8 photographs.

o   La Jolla Yacht and Beach Club.  3 photographs.

o   North Hollywood Maternity Hospital, 1952.  1 photograph.

o   Hesby Street School for the Los Angeles School District, 1953. 1 photograph.

o   Mr. Warrington House, Ojai, California.  1 photograph.

o   Krotona Institute of Theosophy.  5 photographs.

o   Carey Residence, Hollywood, California, 1925.  1 photograph.

o   Milton Shifman Residence, North Hollywood, California, 1945.  1 photograph.

o   Housing Project for U. S. Emergency Corporation, World Wart II, Lorain, Ohio.  1 photograph.

o   Empire Theatre, Edmonton, Canada.  3 photographs.

o   Lake Mead Recreation Area, Boulder Beach, Nevada, 1939.  3 photographs.

o   Lake Mead Recreation Area, the Lost City, Overton, Nevada, 1938.  1 photograph.

o   Lake Mead Recreation Area, Pierce’s Ferry, Arizona, 1939.  2 photographs.

 

Drawer 8:

  • Weber, Staunton, Spaulding, Architects, A. E. Hansen, Landscape Architect.  Harold Lloyd Estate, Beverly Hills, 1927-1928.  Drawings.

 

 

Drawer 9:

  • S. Charles Lee, Tower Theater, Compton.  Copies of drawings.
  • Brian Webb, office at 6 Latimer Road, Santa Monica, Residence for Mr. and Mrs. Mitchell Bobrick, 1920 Rial Lane, Los Angeles, 90024, ca 1964?.  Drawings [copies].
  • George Frank Ligar

o   #1.  Proposed restaurant, 350 S. La Cienega, 1960.  Drawings.

o   #2. Proposed residence for Mr. and Mrs. Clayton Kolvoord, 1950.  Drawings.

o   #3. Residential swimming pool for Mr. and Mrs. Harry Applebaum.  1971 Correa Way, Los Angeles, 1958.  Drawings.

o   #4. Retaining wall for Mr. and Mrs. Hank Peters, 1960.  Drawings.

o   #5. Apartment building for Mr. and Mrs. John Lumbleau, 135-139 Fleet Street, Los Angeles.  Venice Waterways Development.  Drawings.

o   #6. Proposed addition to dwelling at 5418 Marburn Avenue, for Mr. and Mrs. S. P. Stephenson, 1971.  Drawings.

o   #7. Proposed remodeled residence for Mr. and Mrs. Glynn Ross, 3398 Blair Drive, Hollywood, 1956.  Drawings.

o   #8. Mr. and Mrs. Joe Gonzalez project, Hacienda Heights, 1972. Drawing.

o   #9. Proposed remodeling for dwelling for Dr. and Mrs. Harold D. Rothblatt, 1059 Orlando Avenue, 1969.  Drawings.

 

 

Drawer 10:

  • George Frank Ligar

o   #10. Retaining walls for Mr. and Mrs. Philip Dauk, 3875 Mount Vernon Drive, Los Angeles, 1958.  Blueprints.

o   #11. Residence of Mr. and Mrs. Holly.  Hill Street, Huntington Park, preliminary study, 1946.  Blueprints.

o   #12. Residence for the use of Mr. and Mrs. Alfred de Pasquale, 7133 La Presa Drive, Hollywood, 1952.  Drawings.

o   #13. Proposed addition for Mr. and Mrs. Harvey Strode, Diamond Bar, 1989.  Drawings.  Drawings.

o   #14. Proposed remodeling of Fleishon Venice Apartments, 1980.  Drawings.

o   #15. Proposed remodel plan for Dr. and Mrs. George Buznic, Capri by the Sea, 1980.  Drawings.

o   #16. Proposed cabin for the use of Mr. and Mrs. Ralph Barnes, Malibu Beach, 1953.  Drawings.

o   #17.  Proposed additions and remodeling, Hosea Clark house, 5209 Maymont Avenue, Los Angeles, 1978.

o   #18. Mr. and Mrs. George Capaci, 758 E. 76th Street, Los Angeles.  Drawings.

o   #19. Proposed dwelling, 2754 Woodhaven Drive, Hollywood, 1968.  Drawings.

o   #20. Proposed retaining wall for Mr. and Mrs. Melvin Sirota, 9718 Hensal Road, Los Angeles, 1970.

o   #21. Residence for Mr. and Mrs. Hagan, Alhambra, 1941. Drawings.

o   #22. Residence for Mr. and Mrs. Bullock, San Pedro, 1941.  Drawings.

o   #23. Proposed bathroom for Mr. James Biava, 1120 27th Street, Los Angeles, 1982.

o   #24. Proposed dwelling for Dr. and Mrs. Yogish Gorodia, 1979.

 

 

 

[rw 3/2012]

 

 

 

 

 

Head, Architecture and Fine Arts Library

Stacy Williams's picture
Stacy Williams
Contact:
Helen Topping
Architecture & Fine Arts Library
Watt Hall
AFA Instagram
Website