This is the "Home" page of the "Science fiction" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Science fiction   Tags: american, english, literature, science fiction  

Doing research about sci-fi and finding books and journals on this subject
Last Updated: Dec 2, 2013 URL: http://libguides.usc.edu/scifi Print Guide Email Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Other guides

The following LibGuides will also help you.

English Language & Literature *
by Sophie Lesinska - Last Updated Jul 2, 2014
This guide points researchers to a few key USC Libraries resources that might be helpful to start research projects in the area of literary studies.
1,129 views this year
MLA Citation Guide
by Sophie Lesinska - Last Updated Apr 27, 2014
This guides offers examples on how to cite references following MLA citation guidelines
805 views this year
Citation Guide
by Karen Howell, Beth Namei, Jade Winn - Last Updated Jun 12, 2014
Guide to various citation styles, including tips for citation analysis and writing.
3,898 views this year

Other reference materials

To get a broader sense of the subject, you may consult other sources such as encyclopedias, bibliographies, biographical information, criticism, etc. Each link below will take you to the corresponding section in this guide with a selection of sources in those areas.

 

Introduction

Science fiction is a genre of fiction dealing with the impact of imagined innovations in science or technology, often in a futuristic setting. USC Libraries attempts to collect at the instructional support level, a collection that is adequate for undergraduate instruction or sustained independent study.

Fantasy is a genre that uses magic and other supernatural phenomena as a primary element of plot, theme, and/or setting. Many works within the genre take place in fictional worlds where magic is common. Fantasy is generally distinguished from science fiction in that it does not provide a logical (or pseudo logical) explanation for the scientifically impossible events that occur, though there is a great deal of overlap between the two (both are subgenres of speculative fiction).

Donehy Library has a collection of science fiction and fantasy books, mostly in English. In order to find a particular author that we might have, you need to know the author. Use the sectiion on this guide to search and locate guides to help you identify an author or a subject.

 

Guides

These guides to the field are useful to identify authors and subjects.

Cover Art
Anatomy of wonder: A critical guide to science fiction - Barron, Neil, 1934-
Call Number: Z5917.S36A52 2004
ISBN: 1591581710
The overall coverage of this edition is extensive, with three major sections presenting a series of essays on the history of science fiction; annotated bibliographies of primary and secondary literature; and author, title, and theme indexes.

Cover Art
Reference guide to science fiction, fantasy, and horror - Burgess, Michael.
Call Number: Z5917.S36B87 2002
ISBN: 1563085488
This volume presents annotations for the major and many of the minor science fiction reference volumes published. Books are grouped in sections by subject, then listed alphabetically by main entry.

Cover Art
Fantasy literature: A reader's guide - Barron, Neil, 1934-
Call Number: Z5917.F3F36 1990
ISBN: 0824031482
The editor has covered over 1700 works of fiction and nonfiction. History and criticism, reference works, film and television, art, magazines, core collections, awards, and organizations are surveyed. Numerous works combining science fiction and fantasy are carefully delineated.

Cover Art
The Cambridge companion to utopian literature - Claeys, Gregory.
Call Number: PN56.U8C36 2010
ISBN: 9780521886659
This Companion presents an extensive historical survey of the development of utopianism, from the publication of Utopia to today's dark and despairing tendency towards dystopian pessimism, epitomised by works such as George Orwell's Nineteen Eighty-Four and Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale

Librarian/Special Collections

Profile Image
Ivan E Calimano. PhD
Logo - FacebookLogo - Google TalkLogo - LinkedInLogo - SkypeLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Doheny Memorial Library 206
Special Collections
213 740 6283
Send Email
 

Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


* Asterisk in guide title indicates core subject guide
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip