This is the "Home" page of the "Politics and Government Archival Collections in USC Libraries Special Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Politics and Government Archival Collections in USC Libraries Special Collections   Tags: american_history, american_studies, archival_collections, archive, california, history, los_angeles, primary_sources, us_history  

Guide to the collections of political papers and records held by USC Libraries Department of Special Collections
Last Updated: Feb 5, 2014 URL: http://libguides.usc.edu/politicalpapers Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About Special Collections at USC

LOCATION

University of Southern California
Doheny Memorial Library, 2nd floor, South wing
3550 Trousdale Parkway
Los Angeles, CA 90089
213-740-5900
specol@usc.edu

HOURS

Monday-Friday 9am-5pm
Saturday 1pm-5pm (during the fall and spring semesters only)

 

USC Libraries Hours

FAQs

Information for first time users

Learn more about Class Visits and Research Consulation

Learn more about the history of USC's Special Collections

Special Collections Staff

 

Content on this LibGuide was drawn from a variety of sources, including finding aids created by USC Libraries for the collections described. These finding aids are frequently the product of collaborative effort and revised over time.

 

Collection Search

 

Political Papers in USC Libraries' Special Collections

The Department of Special Collections is home to many archival collections of political materials, with an especial emphasis on the papers of politicians and politics in California.  These collections provide a broad and in-depth look at the history of politics in the Los Angeles area, within the state of California, and across the United States.

 

Politicians:

Alphonzo Bell papers

Eugene Biscailuz scrapbooks

Edmund G. Brown, Jr., papers

Yvonne Brathwaite Burke papers: Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors

Yvonne Brathwaite Burke papers: California State Assembly, U.S. Congress, Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors, and California Attorney General campaign

Houston Flournoy papers

Chester Earl Holifield papers

Craig Hosmer papers

Herbert G. Klein papers

Frank Lanterman papers

Gordon Leo McDonough papers

Osborne-Montague Family papers

Thomas Rees papers

John Rousselot papers

Lynn Schenk papers

Admiral William H. Standley papers

Henry Lane Wilson papers

 

Political movements:

Abolish Cross Filing in California records

Amy C. Ransome collection on Women's Suffrage

California Hands Across America records

 

Political activists:

Chauncey Alexander papers

Irmgard Lenel papers

Norman Mailer papers

Shirley Adelson Siegel papers

Warren Steinberg papers

Catherine G. Stern papers

 

Political activity:

Citizens Committee to Save Elysian Park records

Crawford et al. v. Board of Education of the City of Los Angeles et al. records

Gladwin Hill papers

Los Angeles Riots (1965) records

Mineral King Development records

Presidential campaign ephemera

D. M. Reynolds papers

Speakers' Club of Los Angeles records

Gregory Freeman Stone collection on the Robert F. Kennedy assassination

Union Pacific Tidelands records

University of Southern California School of Public Administration records

 

Government and non-governmental agencies:

Independent Commission on the Los Angeles Police Department record

Los Angeles Bureau of Municipal Research reports, surveys, and other material

Los Angeles County Department of Public Social Services records

Los Angeles Webster Commission records

* Asterisk in guide title indicates core subject guide
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip