Skip to main content

Hoose Library of Philosophy: Collections, History, Art & Architecture and Digital Humanities Projects and Resources: Home

A brief guide to the USC James Harmon Hoose Library of Philosophy and its rare book and manuscript special collections, history, and art and architecture. USC Libraries news, events, projects and services.

Did you know the Hoose Library of Philosophy is the oldest library on the USC campus?

photo source: Melissa L. Miller, USC Hoose Library of Philosophy in Mudd Hall of Philosophy



California Historical Society - James Harmon Hoose


Dr. Hoose was an important figure in Southern California history and pivotal to the history of USC and the department distinctions we know today. In 1891 he moved from New York to Pasadena, CA where he was engaged in fruit culture for five years before being elected Professor of Pedagogy and Psychology in the College of Liberal Arts of the University of Southern California. Within a couple of years Dr. Hoose was also teaching courses in History and Economics and soon after added courses in Philosophy and Sociology. Dr. Hoose was truly progressive for his time when he asked his daughter, Helen Lillard, one of the few female professors, to teach all her his courses while he recovered from surgery in late 1902 to the end of the academic school year in 1903. After his return to he added Education and Law to his courseload. He was beloved by his colleagues and students. 


Related Research Guides


The Rare Books & Manuscripts of the USC Hoose Library of Philosophy are housed in the Department of Special Collections located on the second floor of Doheny Memorial Library. These collections include those materials that, because of subject coverage, rarity, source, condition, or form, are best handled separately from the General Collection and do not circulate. 

This subject guide will grow over time. For more information about our collections, please click on the tabs above related to your areas of research and interest!

Faculty schedule your class visit with our Department of Special Collections!

*Our collections exist to be used and are open to everyone.
When given the opportunity to work directly with primary source materials, historic documents and photographs, or rare books, students discover an excitement and engagement not generated by textbooks. In addition, working with primary source materials teaches students to learn to verify sources, tracking down connections, and finding evidence from content and from physical clues. 

We welcome opportunities to teach and co-teach classes on primary-source and original research as well as to suggest and arrange an array of relevant materials for your students to work with.  We are also happy to work with you on class projects incorporating original research with our primary sources. In addition, the resources of the department are available to aid faculty as well as undergraduate and graduate students in their teaching and research, either in the classroom or in the library, by special arrangement.

*This statement is directly from the USC Special Collections Research Guide

Dr. James Harmon Hoose

USC Digital Library -full four pages from The Daily Southern Californian, Hoose Hall Issue.

USC Libraries

Melissa L. Miller, MMLIS's picture
Melissa L. Miller, MMLIS
USC Libraries
Hoose Library of Philosophy
Skype Contact: melissa.miller0907