Handouts
Comments (0)
Sample search
1. Do a broad search within ProQuest, and find out one kind of biotechnology you want to search
For instance, "stem cell" research, "cloning", "genomics", "biotech foods" ...
2. Search strategies and techniques
- Use "*" to truncate your keywords and get more results of your keywords;
- Use "AND" to connect your keywords in order to narrow down your search and get what you are looking for;
- Use quotation marks if you are searching a phrase;
- Search within "Abstract", which will help you find what you are looking for;
- Always pay attention to "suggested topics" or "subjects", which might give you good search queries;
3. Choose your interested articles (3 authoritative sources), use "find it @USC" to get full-text, and create a reference list in the required format (e.g. APA, MLA)
USC Libraries Resources
- ProQuest Research Libraryto get news articles, scholarly journal articles, etc. for your assignment; full-text depends on subscription; citation of reference is provided
- Wilson OmniFileCheck "Social Science full-text" and "OmniFile Full Text Mega"
- CQ Librarybackground information of your research assignment (topic review report); full-text is available; Citation of reference is provided
- CSA platformsearch five databases: ERIC, Philosopher's Index, PsycINFO, Social Services Abstracts, and Sociological Abstracts
If the link is not working, please refresh your internet browser, go to "specified databases" and choose above databases. - LexisNexis AcademicDatabase of full text online news, business, financial, legal, medical, biographical, government and domestic and international newspaper resources; Citation is provided;
Background information
- AccessScienceAn e-reference to help your understand your topic. e.g. search "biotechnology" and retrieve results, select one to understand what biotechnology is about.
http://www.accessscience.com/content.aspx?searchStr=biotechnology&id=084350
Your Information Concierge |
Contact Info Office: 102 SSL (beside the 1st floor photocopier) Phone: 213-740-5775 blea@usc.edu Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...
