Skip to main content

Native American Studies *: Encyclopedia & Background Sources

Finding Reference Sources

There are several ways to search for reference resources on your topic.

In HOMER searches, restrict the location to REFERENCE

Search Reference Universe and other online reference resources (see the box at right)

Write a keyword search that includes the type of resource you're looking for, as in:
   ... and bibliographies
   ... and encyclopedias

Ethnopharmacology Collection

American Indian Ethnopharmacology Collection  This collection of material on American Indian traditional medicine is located at the Norris Medical Library, in the Webb Room (upper level)

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Bibliographies

Reference sources are extremely useful for providing authoritative overviews and background information on a topic. They will give you the terminology and the key names, dates and concepts that can be used when conducting online searches for scholarly articles, books, as well as for searching for primary sources and historical newspapers. Many reference sources also provide extensive bibliographies that list the important and influential scholarship on a given topic.


Selected Online Reference Books:

A Companion to American Indian History  (2004)

Encyclopedia of North American Indians (2008)

 Large Online Reference Collections:

Gale Virtual Reference Library 

Oxford Reference Online Premium


Selected Print Reference Resources:

American Ethnic Literatures: Native American, African American, Chicano/Latino, and Asian American Writers and their Backgrounds: An Annotated Bibliography (1992)

American Indian Culture (2004)

American Indian Quotations (1996)

Chronology of American Indian History (2007)

Companion to American Indian History (2002)

Documents of American Indian Diplomacy: Treaties, Agreements, and Conventions, 1775-1979 (1999)

Encyclopedia of American Indian History (2008)

Encyclopedia of Native American Healing (1996)

Encyclopedia of Native American Legal Tradition (1998)

Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes. 3rd ed. (2006)

Encyclopedia of American Indian Literature. (2007)

Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes (1998)

Historical Dictionary of Native American Movements (2008)

Native American Periodicals and Newspapers, 1828-1982: bibliography, publishing record, and holdings (1984)