Skip to main content

Native American Studies *: Databases & Journals

Core Article Databases

Start with these databases: 

Next Try These Multidisciplinary Databases

Multidisciplinary databases are extremely useful for finding articles published in interdisciplinary journals or in journals outiside a given discipline that may still be relevant to your research topic.

In addition to containing journal articles, many of these database also provide citations for (or full-text access to) books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference proceedings, which allows you to cast a wider net in your effort to find sources.

Selected Scholarly Journals

American Indian Culture and Research Journal  Peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary journal on indigenous peoples of North America

American Indian Quarterly  Peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary journal of the anthropology, history, literatures, religions, and arts of Native Americans

American Quarterly  Peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary perspectives on the study of American culture

differences Peer-reviewed publication with focus on how concepts of difference operate within culture

Demography Interdisciplinary peer-reviewed journal of general interest articles for population scientists 

Ethnic & Racial Studies An interdisciplinary international academic forum for the presentation of peer-reviewed research and theoretical analysis, drawing on sociology, social policy, anthropology, political science, economics, international relations, history and social psychology

Ethnohistory  Peer-reviewed Duke University publication emphasizes the joint use of documentary materials and ethnographic or archaeological data, as well as the combination of historical and anthropological approaches, in the study of social and cultural processes and history. It publishes articles, review essays, and book reviews by scholars in anthropology, history, archaeology, linguistics, literature and art history, geography, and other disciplines and is read by historians and anthropologists alike

Ethnomusicology  This official organ of the Society for Ethnomusicology contains scholarly articles on the wide variety of cultural study areas, theoretical qustions and interdisciplinary approaches characteristic of the field of ethnomusicology

Journal of American Ethnic History  Peer-reviewed publication of the University of Illinois Press that addresses various aspects of American ethnic history

Journal of American History  Leading scholarly journal in the field of American history

Journal of American Studies  Peer-reviewed journal of art, literature, and popular culture

Journal of Contemporary Ethnography International peer-reviewed journal dedicated to ethnography and qualitative research

Journal of Ethnic and Migration Studies  Peer-reviewed journal presenting research on all forms of migration and its consequences, together with articles on ethnic conflict, discrimination, racism, nationalism, citizenship and policies of integration

Journal of the Early Republic  Peer-reviewed journal covering Early United States history and culture

MELUS Scholarly journal dedicated to multi-ethnic literature in English

Oral History Review  This official publication of the Oral History Association explores oral history of people who have participated in important political, cultural, and economic social developments in modern times

Sociological Quarterly Scholarly research and theory in all areas of sociological inquiry

 

Find out if USC has a Specific Journal

If you are looking for a specific journal, select Journals on the Libraries homepage:

If you have the exact title of the journal, search for the title and on the Results page, select "Sort by: Title":

If we have online access to this publication you'll see one or more results, with the dates available and the name of the database or publisher linking you to the journal. If we have the journal in print or on microfilm you will see location information under the "Availability" section of the item record.