Of Special Note ...
ONE National Gay and Lesbian Archives now part of USC Libraries! This collection, the world's largest research collection for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender history, will continue to be accessible at its current location on W. Adams Blvd.
Selected New Acquisitions
- Collections of the United Farm Workers of America (four microfilm collections) Please see links and information on the USC Primary Sources page, under Microfilm Collections, American Studies and Ethnicity Research Guide
- Concise Companion to American Studies This essential new resource, edited by John Carlos Rowe, is available in Doheny Library
- The Civil War Collection, Accessible Archives Additions are: Part II: the Soldiers’ Perspective; Part III: the Generals’ Perspective; Part IV: a Midwestern Perspective. The Libraries had previously acquired Part I: a Newspaper Perspective.
- American History in Video Provides access to commercial and governmental newsreels, archival and public affairs footage, and documentaries
- Victorian Popular Culture Contains a wide range of source material relating to popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe from 1779 to 1930
- Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels The first-ever scholarly, primary source database focusing on adult comic books and graphic novels, beginning with the first underground comix from the 1960’s. It also includes interviews, criticism, and journal articles
- LexisNexis Congressional Hearings Digital Collection, 1824-2003 The Library has added Part B, 1980-2003, to its previous holdings. The collection contains the full-text of published and unpublished hearings, oral statements, committee questions and discussion, reports, and more
- CQ Press Political Reference Suite of Online Editions CQ Press publications dating back to 1945, including directories, encyclopedias, handbooks, compendia, and yearbooks on topics such as California politics; US legislative and political history; US Indian policy and law; historic documents; and more
- California Digital Newspaper Collection (CDNC) This historical newspaper collection, from UC-Riverside’s Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research, provides access to over 200,000 digitized pages of California newspapers spanning the years 1846-1922
USC Libraries News
Loading...
Welcome Students and Faculty!
Welcome to the Native American Studies Research Guide!
Browse through the tabs to find books, articles, online resources, primary sources, professional and career resources, and more
Getting Started: Online and print reference resources for background reading (for more resources, click the References tab in this guide)
Blackwell Reference Online (most also available in print) This extensive multidisciplinary database includes hundreds of key reference titles, including in History, Race and Ethnicity Studies, Cultural Studies, Environmental Studies, Gender Studies, and Geography. Selected titles of interest include the following; please also consult the History, US and Canada and the American Studies and Ethnicity Guides (see related guides box below for Asian American Studies, African American Studies, and Native American Studies) for more selected titles:
- A Companion to Racial and Ethnic Studies (Eds. David Theo Goldberg and John Solomos)
- A Companion to Cultural Studies (Ed. Toby Miller)
- A Companion to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Studies (Eds. George E. Haggerty and Molly McGarry)
- A Companion to Gender Studies (Eds. Philomena Essed, David Theo Goldberg and Audrey Kobayashi)
- A Companion to 19th-Century America (Ed. William L. Barney)
- A Companion to 20th-Century America (Ed. Stephen J. Whitfield)
- A Companion to American Indian History (Eds. Philip J. Deloria and Neal Salisbury)
- A Companion to the American West (Ed. William Deverell)
- A Companion to California History (Eds. William Deverell and David Igler)
- A Companion to Los Angeles (Eds. William Deverell and Greg Hise)
Concise Companion to American Studies This essential new resource, edited by John Carlos Rowe, is available in Doheny Library
Encyclopedia of North American Indians Hoxie, Frederick E. (ed.). Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1996. This book is also available online
Gale Virtual Reference Library This resource includes many reference books.
American Indian Culture. Barrett, Carole. 3 vols. Pasadena: Salem Press, 2004
American Indian Quotations. Langer, Howard J. (ed). Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1996.
Chronology of American Indian History. Updated ed. Sonneborn, Liz. New York: Facts on File, 2007
Encyclopedia of American Indian History. Johansen, Bruce, ed. 4 vols. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 2008
Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes. 3rd ed. Waldman, Carl. New York: Facts on File, 2006
Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes. Malinowski, Sharon. Detroit: Gale Research, 1998
HOMER USC's library catalog, for books, films, journals, microfilm, and print journals
USC Quick Search New! Use one search box to search a wide range of USC's holdings, including journal articles, books, digital collections, and more
Key databases
America: History and Life Key database for the study of US History, featuring journal articles, dissertations, book reviews, review articles, and CLIO Notes
American West A major new digital collection containing original manuscripts, ephemeral material, maps and rare printed works, from the Graff Collection at the Newberry Library, Chicago.
AnthropologyPlus Combines Harvard’s Anthro Lit Database with Royal Anthropological Institute’s Anthropological Index. Over 3,000 journals. Includes oral histories, narratives, and other primary source material as well as journal articles
AnthroSource Index for many of the American Antropological Association's most critical peer-reviewed publications, including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, Anthropology and Humanism, Archaeological Publications of the American Anthropological Association, Cultural Anthropology, and Ethos
Bibliography of Native North Americans From the Human Relations Area Files (HRAF), this database contains the citations from the cumulative eight volumes of the Ethnographic Bibliography of North America as well as additional new citations. The Bibliography contains citations to literature about native peoples of North America published from the sixteenth century to the present. Native North Americans include Aleuts; Eskimos or Inuit of Greenland, northern Canada, Alaska, and eastern Siberia; and other native peoples (i.e. "Indians") of Alaska, Canada, the United States, and Mexico north of the northern boundary of Mesoamerica. All citations are to published materials: books, journal articles, essays, conference papers, and US and Canadian government documents
eHRAF World Cultures HRAF is an acronym for Human Relations Area Files, a non-profit institution founded in 1949 at Yale University. HRAF is a consortium of educational, research, and cultural organizations, and government agencies; its mission is to encourage and facilitate the study of human culture, society, and behavior. This mission is accomplished mainly through the compilation, indexing, and distribution of a collection of ethnographic and other texts that are indexed by culture and subject. For extensive information about HRAF and other resources in Anthropology, please see the Anthropology Research Guide.
Ethnic NewsWatch Provides access to full text from newspapers, magazines, and journals from a diversity of viewpoints not seen in the mainstream media. Choose Interdisciplinary--Ethnic Newswatch under "Databases"
Ethnic NewsWatch: History Provides the historical foreground to the ethnic, minority, and native press content in Ethnic NewsWatch, with over 300,000 full-text articles dating from 1959-1989. Pivotal events in these decades are covered, including the civil rights struggle, Vietnam War protests, dramatic changes in immigration law, trickledown economics, and the status of migrant workers
History Resource Center Provides access to over 4,000 historical documents, articles from more than 30 reference titles, and over 110 full-text journals covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present
JSTOR Multidisciplinary database providing access to scholarly journal articles and book reviews
ProQuest Historical Newspapers -- Includes the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, and many more. Choose historical newspapers from the Databases menu within ProQuest
WorldCat This database contains more than 32 million records providing records from libraries worldwide concerning journals and journal articles; musical scores; magazines;newspapers; sound recordings; films; and manuscripts
Getting Help
Email your subject liaison for Native American Studies:
If you have any questions or need research help in Native American Studies, please contact your subject liaison, Ross Scimeca (Anthropology).
Use our Ask A Librarian service to chat with librarians live, 24 hours a day, seven days a week!
Contact other USC subject librarians for help from librarians in related fields
Related Research Guides
Here are some selected research guides also of interest to researchers in Native American Studies:
Los Angeles and Southern California

Loading...
