A guide to the archival collections in Special Collections with military and military-related topics.
Last Updated: Dec 19, 2011
The Department of Special Collections is the home for many archival collections containing materials related to to wars, their aftermaths and the military. Most of the people or organizations whose papers or records are held at USC either lived or worked at some point in California; many, specifically in Los Angeles.
The tabs in this libguide will take you to information about specific wars in American history, along with other site with primary source material.
- Military Records held by the National Archives and Records Administration
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) holds the archives of the United States federal government, including the records produced by the various branches of the military.
- Veterans History Project
The Veterans History Project of the American Folklife Center collects, preserves, and makes accessible the personal accounts of American war veterans so that future generations may hear directly from veterans and better understand the realities of war.
- The Digital Military Newspaper Library
The Digital Military Newspaper Library is a pilot project to house, organize and preserve contemporary and historic military newspapers and periodicals.
- Anne S. K. Brown Military Collection
These prints, drawings, and watercolors are a significant part of the Anne S. K. Brown Military Collection, the foremost American collection devoted to the history and iconography of soldiers and soldiering, and one of the world’s largest collections devoted to the study of military and naval uniforms.
- Betty H. Carter Women Veterans Historical Project
The Betty H. Carter Women Veterans Historical Project documents the female experience in the U.S. Armed Forces through letters, papers, photographs, published materials, uniforms, artifacts, and oral histories. It contains more than 500 individual collections which includes 300 oral histories. Housed and maintained in the University Archives in Jackson Library, the materials are a research collection for scholars of military history as well as women's studies.
- National Security Archive
The National Security Archive is an independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University in Washington, D.C. The Archive collects and publishes declassified documents acquired through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).