Skip to main content

English Language & Literature *: CORE112

This guide points researchers to a few key USC Libraries resources that might be helpful to start research projects in the area of literary studies.

Databases: searching for articles, book chapters, bigraphies

Search box can be described as USC libraries Google. It simultaneously searches for books and journals in USC Libraries catalog HOMER and for articles in databases. Try it, and if you desire more focused results, move on to searches in individual databases.

Google Scholar (searches for scholarly articles in scholarly journals both in USC Libraries and beyond). Make sure to log in on USC Libraries page before you search it from an off campus location.

 

General Periodical Databases (collections of digitized articles under Database Quick Links):

Proquest database (a mutli-disciplinary database with good coverage for scholarly journals and high quality non-scholarly sources such as, for example, Los Angeles Times) Look for Research>> Popular Databases>> Proquest

 

JSTOR database a mutli-disciplinary database with full-text coverage for scholarly journals) Look for Research>> Popular Databases>> JSTOR

 

Project Muse a mutli-disciplinary database with full-text coverage for scholarly journals) Look for Research>> Popular Databases>> Project Muse

 

Literature Resource Center  (look under Databases alphabetically)
Biographies and criticism on over 90,000 authors, literary movements, and genres from every age and literary discipline

Sophie Lesinska Ph.D.

Zofia Lesinska's picture
Zofia Lesinska
Contact:
DML 118
213-740-7373