This is the "Home" page of the "English Language & Literature *" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
This guide points researchers to a few key USC Libraries resources that might be helpful to start research projects in the area of literary studies.
Last Updated: Jul 2, 2014 URL: http://libguides.usc.edu/literary-studies Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Articles: First Steps

Welcome to Literature LibGuide!

On this page, please find both a list of important collections (a.k.a. as databases) that you can search to find articles in the area of literary studies and also a few tips about locating books in this area.

MLA International Bibliography (MLAIB)

MLA International Bibliography (MLAIB) is an index to scholarly publications in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from over 4000 journals published worldwide.  This bibliography is assembled under the auspices of the Modern Language Association, the leading professional association for literature and languages scholars.  Mostly citation database, with limited access to full text. 

Project Muse FULL text. 380 high quality humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers

Literature Online (LION)

A fully searchable library of over 300,000 works of English and American literature, overseen by an academic Advisory Board. Broken into 4 parts: the Master Index, Literary Database, Reference Works, and Web Resources.

JSTOR: Multidisciplinary collection of full text scholarly journals. RECOMMENDATION: Advanced search, and select your discipline and/or journal titles to search. NOTE: It is an archive, so please do not expect recent issues of journals in JSTOR.

Proquest Research Library: Index to scholarly, popular, and newspaper articles, many in full text. Full coverage of Los Angeles Times.  Good source for film reviews, both in popular and scholarly sources. Note: full text doctoral dissertations created at US and Canadian universities.

EBSCOhost-OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) : Index to articles from scholarly and popular sources, early 1980’s-present.

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature
ABELL contains over 783,000 records covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards.

 

 

 

 

Books: First Steps

For books that USC Libraries own, SEARCH Homer, USC Libraries Online Catalog

For books that USC Libraries might not own, SEARCH WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) , a union catalog of catalogs that allows users to search the collections of most US and Canadian academic libraries.

To recommend a book that USC Libraries should own, please submit your recommendation by clicking the Recommend-A-Book

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Sophie Lesinska, Ph.D.
Contact Info
Office: Doheny Library, Reference Room, Room 118
Phone: 213-740-7373
lesinska@usc.edu
Send Email
 
* Asterisk in guide title indicates core subject guide
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip