Skip to main content

Industry Research: Foods & Beverages

Business guide to industry research

Searching USC Databases

For general overviews and market research reports, search terms like:  FOOD INDUSTRY, FOOD MARKET, FOOD PRODUCTS, GROCERY, SUPERMARKETS, FOOD RETAILING, RESTAURANTS, FAST FOOD, FAST CASUAL, BEVERAGES (e.g.: Coffee, Beer, Soft Drinks, Water), PRODUCE or by specific types of groups within a product category:  DAIRY, ICE CREAM, MILK, etc.   Watch for variations on spelling:  YOGURT, YOGHURT, JOGURT), etc.

USC Industry Information Databases

Trade Publications

These are links to the internet websites of these publications. Other publications not listed here are available full-text online in ProQuest, EBSCO, Factiva or Lexis/Nexis databases at USC.

USC Books

Search USC Libraries Catalog for books and periodicals using the following words and phrases, or find full-text books online through eBrary:

  • Food industry and/or trade
  • Food or Beverage and Retail
  • Grocery or Supermarket
  • Produce trade
  • Restaurants

 

Internet Resources and Reports

Additional Resources

See Industry Associations for addtinal listings and links to subindustry data

Buying Guides

Food Info Net
A portal listing food industry resources for company information, market research, food ingredients, equipment,services, trade shows and news for 28 different countries. Also includes a guide to government resources for the food industry and job postings.

Food Processing Suppliers Association
A directory of food manufacturers and food ingredient suppliers in the U.S.

Food Technology Healthful Foods Directory Buyers Guide
Issued by the Institute of Food Technologists. Free searching of over 990 suppliers to the food and nutraceutical industries.

Governement Statistics and Information

Industry Associations

These are links to key industry associations.  If your industry is not represented here, search Google with your industry name + "association".  Not all content on these websites is free; you may need to be a member to access exclusive reports.

Food Fraud

Food fraud is "the deliberate substitution, addition, tampering or misrepresentation of food, food ingredients or food packaging, or false or misleading statements made about a product for economic gain." (USPC)